OneWorld Seat Selection

Old Jan 12, 21, 12:19 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska MM, AA MM, BA Silver, Bonvoy Lifetime Gold
OneWorld Seat Selection

I did a search on this board but could not find what I was looking for. I hope this is not a stupid question as I am new to how OneWorld works.

I am planning to book a BA business class ticket with Alaska Airlines through their booking site. Once it is booked, I will go to BA to select my seats. I know I would normally have to pay for the seats at time of booking because I am only a BA Bronze. However, I am a OneWorld Sapphire as a American Airlines Million Miler. (Lifetime Gold) I see that OneWorld Sapphires can book seats at time of booking for free on the BA site. How does the BA site know I am a OneWorld Sapphire? Would I have to put in my American Airlines FF number in the reservation on the BA site? (I can't do this on the Alaska side.) Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!
Old Jan 12, 21, 12:27 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by Klrduks View Post
I did a search on this board but could not find what I was looking for. I hope this is not a stupid question as I am new to how OneWorld works.

I am planning to book a BA business class ticket with Alaska Airlines through their booking site. Once it is booked, I will go to BA to select my seats. I know I would normally have to pay for the seats at time of booking because I am only a BA Bronze. However, I am a OneWorld Sapphire as a American Airlines Million Miler. (Lifetime Gold) I see that OneWorld Sapphires can book seats at time of booking for free on the BA site. How does the BA site know I am a OneWorld Sapphire? Would I have to put in my American Airlines FF number in the reservation on the BA site? (I can't do this on the Alaska side.) Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!
Many threads on BA seating including -- BA Seating Policy Guide