Welcome to the UK!

Old Jul 13, 20, 8:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton, IHG, Couples Romance Rewards
Posts: 842
Welcome to the UK!


Current immigration queue at terminal 5...
firstlight is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:22 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: UK - South Coast
Programs: Mucci de Guardian des Celliers des Grands Crus 1e Classé, plus BAEC.
Posts: 1,520
Originally Posted by firstlight View Post
Current immigration queue at terminal 5...
😱

Im not surprised tbh. Coming through last Monday it was very quiet in the terminal and yet there was still a queue inside the tensa barriers. All e-gates were OOA and everyone having to see a UKBF officer and show their declaration form.
krispy84 is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:34 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Flatland
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold 1MM, BA Gold, UA Peon
Posts: 5,775
Global Britain ready for business as usual, I see.

This is going to end up like the USA where the immigration service is so bad that you are held on board aircraft for long periods before being permitted to join the end of the long queue.
anniegray likes this.
flatlander is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:35 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Programs: Sir CT-UK - Streaker pour les autres.
Posts: 5,553
It was nearly this bad on Friday, I would estimate that 70% of the people hadn't completed the arrivals document. By the time I got to the front of the queue there were about 10 people still trying to complete it on their phones getting in the way.
CT-UK is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:42 am
  #5  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 47,290
I had a bit of a queue on Friday, but it wasn't that length. However it didn't take long, since it was just at the entrance to the UK Border and mostly people seemingly umaware of the Passenger Locator Form; alternatively they had done the form but didn't realise they needed a copy of the form (rather than the email) to show Border Force. It didn't actually take long to get through in the end once you worked your way around those doze-walking while clicking their phones. After that front desk check, the rest of the UK Border was quick.
T8191 and Radiation Station like this.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:46 am
  #6  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,614
My experience yesterday coming in around 1345. Came in on A12 so approached the entrance from the other end from the OP's photo. Few people loitering and trying to fill in forms. HAL employees asking whether you had doner it, but you just said yes as they weren't checking them.

No e gates on (I heard from someone who arrived later they were being used so depends when you arrive). Short queue for an office, and the office did want to see the form on my phone asking me to show page 1 and 2 of the pdf.

I was out under 5 minutes so thankfully relatively efficient.
KARFA is online now  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:48 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton, IHG, Couples Romance Rewards
Posts: 842
They've now given up manual checking and just opened up the egates which has eliminated the queue
Genius1 likes this.
firstlight is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:51 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Krakow
Programs: BAEC Silver, Miles and More(FTL), IHG(Platinum), Accor, HHonors(Diamond), SPG, Hertz Five Star
Posts: 3,124
Originally Posted by cws
they had done the form but didn't realise they needed a copy of the form (rather than the email) to show Border Force.


Originally Posted by karfa
Short queue for an office, and the office did want to see the form on my phone asking me to show page 1 and 2 of the pdf.


I am confused, Do I need a hard copy or can I show it on the phone?

Another gripe, why can you not complete the form more than 48 hours in advance?
scottishpoet is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:53 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: LHR/ATH
Programs: Amex Platinum, LH FTL (Silver)
Posts: 3,892
Thats crazy. Is it an organised line? Or are people skipping it. In T2 a week ago the E Gates were working.
ahmetdouas is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:55 am
  #10  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,614
Originally Posted by scottishpoet View Post
I am confused, Do I need a hard copy or can I show it on the phone?
Showing it on the phone to the border agent is fine if you go to one instead of being able to use the e gates. You do not need a hard copy.
KARFA is online now  
Old Jul 13, 20, 8:59 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton, IHG, Couples Romance Rewards
Posts: 842
Originally Posted by firstlight View Post
They've now given up manual checking and just opened up the egates which has eliminated the queue
So actually no checking if you've filled out the form or not went on. There were about half a dozen border force people in total
ahmetdouas likes this.
firstlight is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 9:00 am
  #12  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,614
Originally Posted by firstlight View Post
So actually no checking if you've filled out the form or not went on. There were about half a dozen border force people in total
Yes that's correct and has been the case for the last few weeks both in T5 and T2. If the e gates are on and you use them your form won't be checked.
KARFA is online now  
Old Jul 13, 20, 9:09 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton, IHG, Couples Romance Rewards
Posts: 842
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
Yes that's correct and has been the case for the last few weeks both in T5 and T2. If the e gates are on and you use them your form won't be checked.
so what's the point of the form then if there's no enforcement ?
firstlight is offline  
Old Jul 13, 20, 9:14 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Programs: BAEC, VS Flying Club
Posts: 270
Originally Posted by firstlight View Post
so what's the point of the form then if there's no enforcement ?
The question everyone in the UK is asking. Apart, it seems from Priti Patel.
Genius1, T8191, zat_dude and 9 others like this.
GumshoeW12 is online now  
Old Jul 13, 20, 9:35 am
  #15  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,614
Originally Posted by firstlight View Post
so what's the point of the form then if there's no enforcement ?
It is to ensure there are contact details recorded for when you arrive and also ensure the details of flight number, date & seat number are captured. I am sure you can fill it in correctly without someone checking your homework
Dan72 and crazyarmadillo like this.
KARFA is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: