When does EF info become irrelevant?

Old Jan 21, 20, 5:10 pm
Original Poster

When does EF info become irrelevant?

Hi there,

I'm on a 241 from LHR to JFK next Tues (16.20 flight). At present EF is showing F2, A1 and the seat map is showing 3 seats unallocated and 1 seat in row 1 blocked rather than occupied.

My Q is - sorry if this is stupid! - at what point with EF info not be as up to date as the final sales for the flight? If, for example, me or my companion were to get bumped at check-in, what EF info offer me an insight into true loads there and then on my mobile phone? Or, if the worst happen, help me out in asking to get moved to the 5.05pm flight of EF shows F avails?

Thanks in advance for your help. I've made the leap to an EF yearly subscription but I'm still learning how to use it and how 'realtime' the data is.

Maggie
Old Jan 21, 20, 6:34 pm

Programs: BAEC Silver, Miles and More(FTL), IHG(Platinum), Accor, HHonors(Diamond), SPG, Hertz Five Star
as far as i know the info in EF is always "current", Certainly in terms of the seat map if i change seat 55 minutes before departure the change shows in EF immediately. There is no direct link between the number of seats BA is willing to sell to the number of seats actually available.
maggieholls likes this.
Old Jan 21, 20, 7:14 pm

Programs: BA - Blue
Originally Posted by scottishpoet View Post
as far as i know the info in EF is always "current", Certainly in terms of the seat map if i change seat 55 minutes before departure the change shows in EF immediately. There is no direct link between the number of seats BA is willing to sell to the number of seats actually available.
I would refine this as "there IS a strong correlation between number of seats BA is willing to sell, but it is NOT an accurate representation of how many seats are still available".

tb
maggieholls likes this.
Old Jan 21, 20, 8:18 pm

Programs: BA GFL, GGL/CCR