Food service in T5 First Lounge

Old Jan 6, 20, 1:41 pm
Original Poster

Food service in T5 First Lounge

Hi all

Looking for some advice - I've been using the T5 First Lounge during connections for the last two years. I find the table service in the restaurant area can take forever to order.

Has anyone discovered a good strategy to get in and out fast? I don't mind the wait on longer connections, but the indigestion on shorter stays is hardly worth it.

Thanks!
Old Jan 6, 20, 1:45 pm

Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, HH Diamond, BW Diamond, Blue Peter Badge Holder
Eat from the help yourself options, or go to a member of staff and order before sitting down?
HIDDY likes this.
Old Jan 6, 20, 1:46 pm

Programs: BA Gold
Yes, eat from the buffet save waiting around!
Old Jan 6, 20, 1:51 pm

Programs: BAEC Gold, EK Skywards (enhanced Blue !), Oman Air Sindbad Gold
The buffet options are usually very respectable ..... would stick to those if in a rush
(or try wearing a hi-viz jacket with AC written on it).
Old Jan 6, 20, 1:57 pm
Original Poster

Thanks folks. The buffet is usually pretty good, and I always use it for breakfast.

Sometimes I really fancy the burger though - so I try to sit near the entrance to the kitchens to catch one of the waiting staff. I'm not convinced it's a good strategy though - so curious if anyone has found a better strategy.

I'm back in there on Sunday, but with plenty of time.
Old Jan 6, 20, 1:58 pm

Programs: BAEC - Silver
I just approach someone, ask for what Iíd like and show them where Iím sitting. Didnít realise there was any other way.
Old Jan 6, 20, 1:59 pm

Programs: BAEC Gold, *A Gold, HH Silver, IHG Gold Elite, Sixt Gold
I normally chase one of the staffers and ask, usually the wait is ok although TBH most times I find the buffet more intriguing than the made to order options, but that's just personal preference I guess.
Old Jan 6, 20, 2:02 pm
Jed

Programs: BA Gold, AA 1MM lifetime gold, Starwood gold, Marriott Gold Elite