BA at ORD

Old Nov 28, 19, 5:53 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA Ag, Ex VS Au, Avis Pres, Enterprise Plat, Ex Marriott Plat, HHonors Ag, Priority Club Au
Posts: 485
BA at ORD

Anyone know if BA are changing terminals at ORD? I have a flight booked next year and it doesnít specify the terminal, just comes up with Ď- -Ď. If they are moving then that would be great as the lounge in T5 is pretty mediocre.
gliderpilot is offline  
Old Nov 28, 19, 6:09 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,018
doubt it - and if they did move it would presumably be to join AA, which is (I think) a miserable, crowded terminal - even the Flagship Lounge at ORD is a bit "meh" (not on par with the JFK and MIA ones, I don't think) - always horribly crowded whenever I am there

more likely, ORD is on the list for lounge renovation, as has happened in JFK, BOS, JNB etc. over recent years - agree that both the Club and First lounges in ORD could use a re-fresh
eefor jfp likes this.
ratypus is offline  
Old Nov 28, 19, 7:25 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA Ag, Ex VS Au, Avis Pres, Enterprise Plat, Ex Marriott Plat, HHonors Ag, Priority Club Au
Posts: 485
Originally Posted by ratypus View Post
doubt it - and if they did move it would presumably be to join AA, which is (I think) a miserable, crowded terminal - even the Flagship Lounge at ORD is a bit "meh" (not on par with the JFK and MIA ones, I don't think) - always horribly crowded whenever I am there

more likely, ORD is on the list for lounge renovation, as has happened in JFK, BOS, JNB etc. over recent years - agree that both the Club and First lounges in ORD could use a re-fresh
Iíve always found the flagship Lounge really nice. Maybe itís the contrast to the rest of T3. Maybe itís gone downhill but itís a nice enough space with reasonable quality champagne and food selection as well as great showers. Agree it can be very busy at times though.
aidy likes this.
gliderpilot is offline  
Old Nov 28, 19, 7:58 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,018
OK - the rest of that terminal is utterly miserable, Flagship is "OK" (good by US standards) just always so busy - I think the JFK/LAX/MIA (MIA especially) ones are a little nicer and feel less crowded (the layout doesn't help at ORD) - I've just never really wanted to spend more time than necessary in ORD Flagship, whereas I find the others nice enough places to spend an hour or two
ratypus is offline  
Old Nov 28, 19, 8:05 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Cambridge
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 998
I have a booking in August 2020 which is showing T5 at ORD. As rare as they are, probably an IT glitch!
TedToToe is offline  
Old Nov 28, 19, 7:22 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: ORD/MDW
Programs: BA/AA/AS/B6/WN/ UA/HH/MR and more like 'em but most felicitously & importantly MUCCI
Posts: 19,058
Originally Posted by gliderpilot View Post
Anyone know if BA are changing terminals at ORD? I have a flight booked next year and it doesnít specify the terminal,
BA will continue operating out of the unremarkable, tedious ORD Terminal 5 until about 2026, when the yet-unbuilt new Global Terminal opens.
BearX220 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 1:32 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 101
Originally Posted by ratypus View Post
more likely, ORD is on the list for lounge renovation, as has happened in JFK, BOS, JNB etc. over recent years - agree that both the Club and First lounges in ORD could use a re-fresh
Yes, that was what I was told when I sent some feedback about the ORD experience...

I have to confess I was utterly underwhelmed by the experience at ORD start-to-finish, but what really annoyed me was the indecent haste we were bundled out of the First lounge because the flight was allegedly boarding. Got to the gate and it was nowhere near boarding. Decided to head back to the lounge and found it locked - went into the Club lounge and queried the decision to send us to the gate with the lounge manager. Was treated to a diatribe about why they were closing the lounges irrespective of whether the flight was boarding or not. Seriously unimpressed!

Anyhow, I did get a response from BA that felt like it had been drafted from scratch rather than a copy-and-paste and promising local follow-up...
becks1 likes this.
BAECAddict is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 2:38 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,018
The ORD experience in that respect was better / is better when itís a 747/777 rather than a A380 and they can board direct from the First lounge - with the A380 they do seem to sometimes kick out before boarding is actually underway (let alone if you would rather board last rather than first)
ratypus is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 2:47 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 101
Originally Posted by ratypus View Post
The ORD experience in that respect was better / is better when itís a 747/777 rather than a A380 and they can board direct from the First lounge - with the A380 they do seem to sometimes kick out before boarding is actually underway (let alone if you would rather board last rather than first)
Yes, we were on the A380 so sounds like it wasn't an isolated incident. Didn't realise the 747/777 had direct boarding from the First lounge! Once on-board, things took a definite turn for the better... I love the amount of space that the A380 F seat has.
BAECAddict is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 4:29 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,018
Yep, unless things have changed (and assuming it's the correct gate) the First lounge at ORD has a direct gate to the aircraft - very nice

Same in SFO - where even after the lounge renovation the A380 still cannot board from the lounge, but the 747 services can
ratypus is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 5:04 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA Ag, Ex VS Au, Avis Pres, Enterprise Plat, Ex Marriott Plat, HHonors Ag, Priority Club Au
Posts: 485
Thanks all. Sounds like an IT glitch then.
gliderpilot is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 9:26 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago, USA
Programs: BAEC GGL, Hilton Diamond, Marriott GOLD, Accor Club Gold
Posts: 521
As a Chicago resident, I have to say I think the pre-flight dining for First at ORD is very good - I have no complaints!
BAECAddict likes this.
DominicB is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 10:54 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Left coast US & "a tiny island across the sea"
Programs: MUCCI, BAEC GCH (currently), AA LTG (FWIW)
Posts: 2,358
Originally Posted by ratypus View Post
...
Same in SFO - where even after the lounge renovation the A380 still cannot board from the lounge, but the 747 services can
That's due to the lack of space between the even A gates (A4 and A6 in particular - those connected directly to the lounge) and the "A" parking structure. The 747 and 777 services usually board from the lounge; 380 services usually board from either A9 or (more recently IME) A5.

rb211.
RB211 is offline  
Old Nov 29, 19, 12:47 pm
  #14  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges and Carbon Conscious Travel
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 20,108
Originally Posted by DominicB View Post
As a Chicago resident, I have to say I think the pre-flight dining for First at ORD is very good - I have no complaints!
i have no complaints about the food or service, it just feels as though youíre dining in someoneís office. The ORD lounges, both of them, are chronically short of space
Prospero is online now  
Old Nov 29, 19, 2:30 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Left coast US & "a tiny island across the sea"
Programs: MUCCI, BAEC GCH (currently), AA LTG (FWIW)
Posts: 2,358
Originally Posted by RB211 View Post
That's due to the lack of space between the even A gates (A4 and A6 in particular - those connected directly to the lounge) and the "A" parking structure. The 747 and 777 services usually board from the lounge; 380 services usually board from either A9 or (more recently IME) A5.

rb211.
And those are the "old" gate numbers... SFO switched to new numbers last month.

rb211.
RB211 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: