Seat change for operational reasons

Old Oct 23, 19, 8:42 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 3
Seat change for operational reasons

I am due to fly back from Brazil next month on an overnight flight and reserved seat 07K on a 788 so that I could have aisle access. However, I've just received an email from BA that says they have change my seat for operational reasons to 06K.

What could these reasons be? Is this because they need to seat for crew? Or perhaps they need it for some other use.
The GIG is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 8:46 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Programs: Tufty Club (Gold), BAGA Gymnastics level 4, 440yds swimming certificate
Posts: 1,877
Same here from MEX next year
A P Yu is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 8:47 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Programs: BA, Hilton
Posts: 988
Probably crew rest seat. See this very helpful post from Boeing77W (who despite the name is, I believe, now a 787 driver)

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/30899224-post563.html

(Tho in fairness, that post only lists it in the LHR-GIG direction, so not 100% sure)
orbitmic likes this.
BertieBadger is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 8:49 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Programs: Tufty Club (Gold), BAGA Gymnastics level 4, 440yds swimming certificate
Posts: 1,877
Its historically only been a crew rest seat TO MEX / GIG etc. as per that referenced post
BertieBadger likes this.
A P Yu is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 8:55 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 3
Thanks for the explanation and link. I can understand why they do it but it's slightly annoying as I paid to reserve that seat.
The GIG is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 9:02 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Programs: BA, Hilton
Posts: 988
Originally Posted by The GIG View Post
Thanks for the explanation and link. I can understand why they do it but it's slightly annoying as I paid to reserve that seat.
As A P Yu correctly points out, it has historically only been in the LHR-GIG direction, so it may be for some other reason. I'm not an insider so can't say definitively - but it seems a probable explanation.

You can get a refund on seat fees if you've been shifted. If there are no direct aisle access (3A,3E,3K,7A,7E) left that you want, and 6K is the best option left to you then you can accept it and then apply for a refund after you fly (but within 2 weeks of flying). You could of course request a refund now, but doing so then risks you being shifted again into a poorer seat than 6K.

Oh, and welcome to FlyerTalk!
Often1 and The GIG like this.
BertieBadger is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 1:33 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: BAEC Silver, AZ Gold, AS MVP Gold
Posts: 350
Bizarrely I had the exact same e-mail this morning also. Moved from 7K on SJC-LHR on a 789 for a flight in a couple of weeks. Only seats available are in the middle, so slightly narked off.

Why don't BA just have 7K blocked from when the flight is available for booking?
Tobias-UK and nancypants like this.
PoincianaKings is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 2:34 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Mexico
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 702
Had the same thing today getting bumped from 7K from Mex to Lhr. We've been shifted to 13A/B on the 787-9. It's not the end of the world, but had it happened a week ago could have bagged 7A and B.

I sent a polite message to twitter, but of course that will be a waste of time.
TTmex is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 3:10 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: north of heathrow
Posts: 879
All on the way back to LHR? Something has changed then. Hmmm.
flygirl68 is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 3:15 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Mexico
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 702
Yeh, something has indeed. I contacted twitter and they said it seems ever single flight has the same issue across many routes. News to them...
TTmex is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 3:53 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: living near Malaga
Programs: BA Gold , Mucci recipient. Coffee Drinker, Blue Sky Thinker
Posts: 834
Originally Posted by TTmex View Post
Yeh, something has indeed. I contacted twitter and they said it seems ever single flight has the same issue across many routes. News to them...
I understand BA do fly an engineer on every flight on certain routes to cover down line maintenance issues where local cover is lacking. Could this be related to that?
TTmex likes this.
sunshinebob is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 5:04 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: BAEC Silver, AZ Gold, AS MVP Gold
Posts: 350
Originally Posted by sunshinebob View Post
I understand BA do fly an engineer on every flight on certain routes to cover down line maintenance issues where local cover is lacking. Could this be related to that?
Possible but at SJC Id imagine any local cover can easily be provided by the local team at SFO given it is about 35 miles up the road.
TTmex likes this.
PoincianaKings is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 6:36 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Mexico
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 702
Yeh, I doubt the engineer one, too. Especially as these are all inbound flights to LHR.

Perhaps as part of the ongoing negotiations with BALPA there has been some provision for additional crew rest on longer flights. Just an idea, but could easily be completely off the mark.
TTmex is offline  
Old Oct 23, 19, 6:41 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Platinum & Ambassador
Posts: 10,960
Originally Posted by TTmex View Post
Yeh, I doubt the engineer one, too. Especially as these are all inbound flights to LHR.

.
If there is an engineer on outbounds then they will need to be flown home at some point and will need a seat
TTmex likes this.
UKtravelbear is online now  
Old Oct 23, 19, 7:51 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: north of heathrow
Posts: 879
Engineers would be on duty travel and would sit in any relevant seat. No that seat is purely blocked off for pilots rest, so something has changed to warrant that.
flygirl68 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread