Asking BA to rebook on an AA flight.

Old Aug 17, 19, 2:04 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Programs: QF, BA, LY
Posts: 101
Asking BA to rebook on an AA flight.

I found myself in a situation recently where having missed a BA-BA connection, I asked to be rebooked on the next flight which was actually AA metal.

I get that they refused because it presumably costs them more - but is AA and BA letting people swap seats in a disruption and keeping tabs, or are they charging each other corporate rates for a last-minute seat each time?

I doubt it was a timing issue, because both flights were hours away.

Iím trying to understand if itís really that much more expensive for them to rebook me on another carrier, especially if they have a joint-venture.

Thanks!

Last edited by expataus; Aug 17, 19 at 2:09 am Reason: Grammar
expataus is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 2:11 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 26,302
what specifically was the connection and what were you trying to rebook on? usually if this was a joint business route it shouldn't matter and in case of missing a connection at LHR BA and AA will readily rebook on each other's flights.
KARFA is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 2:13 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,481
What were the specific details of your itinerary and was it all on one ticket? Usually BA will happily rebook on AA and vice-versa during misconnects - this is part of the joint business arrangement. With details we might be able to glean why you were refused in this case.
Ldnn1 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 8:17 am
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 42,409
The exact details matter. Route, one or two tickets, reason for delay.
Often1 is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 8:26 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 99
I too would be interested to hear the answer to this. My (future) scenario would be missing BA0179 LHR-JFK 2 x pax in CW. The final two flights of the day arrive within 5 minutes of each other. Iím assuming departing from T3 instead of the expected T5 brings problems for forward luggage?


Jimbojumbo is offline  
Old Aug 17, 19, 8:34 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Platinum & Ambassador
Posts: 10,486
It would be very unlikely for BA to book you on AA when there is a BA flight has similar arrival and departure times - except if the BA183 was full and the AA flight the only other option to get you on your way.

But yes the practicalities of getting you to T3 would also apply.

Thanks for asking a question with flight details - much easier to answer!
Jimbojumbo likes this.
UKtravelbear is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread