Upgrade using Avios Bug - Help please!

Reply

Old Yesterday, 3:24 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 69
Upgrade using Avios Bug - Help please!

Hi FT,

I'm in a pickle at the moment and hoping for some wisdom. I have a return booking to BCN and wanted to see if it was possible to upgrade.
The outbound couldn't be upgraded but the inbound could.

It showed there would be no additional charge (screenshot below) but it did not show the avios amount. I was expecting it to display on the next page, but this turned out to the final page and the change has confirmed with 7500 debited.

Hoping FTers can help here. Are you able to replicate it? I don't know if it makes a difference between App/Website, but I was in the App.

I've spoken to BA and they want a change fee to reverse it. What would be the best course of action?
BA have agreed to reverse it without a change fee.

Last edited by BA707; Yesterday at 4:06 am
BA707 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:33 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,976
The UuA cost of 7500 avios (peak) and 0 would be correct for that example.

Do you want to reverse it now?
KARFA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:43 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 69
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
The UuA cost of 7500 avios (peak) and 0 would be correct for that example.

Do you want to reverse it now?
Hi KARFA, the issue is that it didn't display the avios amount, unless I've completely missed it.
BA707 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 3:47 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,976
Originally Posted by BA707 View Post
Hi KARFA, the issue is that it didn't display the avios amount, unless I've completely missed it.
I agree I can't see it. I did a similar UuA earlier this year but it was on the desktop site - I am fairly sure the avios figure was shown before accepting. I didn't try doing it through the app. Certainly something that needs fixing.

You asked "I've spoken to BA and they want a change fee to reverse it. What would be the best course of action?" hence my question - regardless of the app not showing the avios figure did you want to stick with the upgrade or reverse it?
KARFA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 4:05 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 69
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
I agree I can't see it. I did a similar UuA earlier this year but it was on the desktop site - I am fairly sure the avios figure was shown before accepting. I didn't try doing it through the app. Certainly something that needs fixing.

You asked "I've spoken to BA and they want a change fee to reverse it. What would be the best course of action?" hence my question - regardless of the app not showing the avios figure did you want to stick with the upgrade or reverse it?
Thanks KARFA. My post was made during the call but after a long hold, they've agreed to reverse it without the change fee.
KARFA likes this.
BA707 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 4:08 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,976
Originally Posted by BA707 View Post
Thanks KARFA. My post was made during the call but after a long hold, they've agreed to reverse it without the change fee.
Thanks for the update. Good result

Hopefully BA fix the bug as well.
KARFA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 4:29 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 69
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
Hopefully BA fix the bug as well.
They'll have to if they want to claim the avios I think. I certainly don't have the audacity to try it though!
BA707 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread