Exit row seats in CE

Reply

Old Aug 14, 19, 12:37 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 106
Exit row seats in CE

Hello

I am on the 794 to Helsinki on 24 August. The seat map show CE back to row 12. However rows 11 and 12 show as 2 seats on the left hand side one labelled A the other D as if the seats on the right don't exist. There's just a blank space on the side where D and F should be

What does this mean? Should I consider moving from my 1A seat to 11 A or D both of which are available

I am on the 799 back the next day and that seat map shows the same config

Many thanks
leisureflyer1234 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 12:46 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 589
Originally Posted by leisureflyer1234 View Post
Hello

I am on the 794 to Helsinki on 24 August. The seat map show CE back to row 12. However rows 11 and 12 show as 2 seats on the left hand side one labelled A the other D as if the seats on the right don't exist. There's just a blank space on the side where D and F should be

What does this mean? Should I consider moving from my 1A seat to 11 A or D both of which are available

I am on the 799 back the next day and that seat map shows the same config

Many thanks
Rows 11 and 12 should have seats in A/C/D/F. Same as any other row.

Personally my I think Row 1 is far superior to the slightly more legroom in exit rows. Not least for first choice at meals and served drinks first. Also more legroom in Row 1.

Id stay put in 1A.
george77300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 12:49 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Platinum & Ambassador
Posts: 10,321
If you move back ro rows 11/12 what will you do if curtain roulette happens and BA reduces the size of the CE cabin? Likely that you'll have lost 1A
UKtravelbear is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 1:18 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 106
Originally Posted by george77300 View Post


Rows 11 and 12 should have seats in A/C/D/F. Same as any other row.

Personally my I think Row 1 is far superior to the slightly more legroom in exit rows. Not least for first choice at meals and served drinks first. Also more legroom in Row 1.

Id stay put in 1A.
Thanks I get that. Just wondering what the strange seat map means. I'm staying in 1A though
leisureflyer1234 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 1:19 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SE1, London
Posts: 21,762
I think it means the seat map is broken for some reason..not unusual with BAs often cranky IT.
Swanhunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 1:24 pm
  #6  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 39,363
Originally Posted by leisureflyer1234 View Post
Thanks I get that. Just wondering what the strange seat map means. I'm staying in 1A though
Are you looking at the App rather than BA.com? Row 12 is blocked at the moment but that may change.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 1:30 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 106
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Are you looking at the App rather than BA.com? Row 12 is blocked at the moment but that may change.
No i'm looking in MMB on a laptop which shows 12 AD occupied and 11 AD available and no display of CF in either 11 or 12
leisureflyer1234 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 1:31 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nottingham
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 401
I think the seat map breaks when the exit rows are in CE. For my flight the other day on an A321 CE extended to row 10. Until OCLI row 10 showed as two seats, "A" and "D". Once OLCI opened it showed as "A", "C", "D" and "F".
c1223 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 19, 1:32 pm
  #9  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 39,363
Originally Posted by leisureflyer1234 View Post
No i'm looking in MMB on a laptop which shows 12 AD occupied and 11 AD available and no display of CF in either 11 or 12
I think it's down to a glitch then. Both ExpertFlyer and my Amadeus based booking tool shows normal seating, usual A, C, D, F seating, row 12 blocked for curtain roulette. It will doubtless figure on their bug fix list, it must be fairly new. I see overtones of Agile in their rollout of screen changes recently.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread