Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Integration of BA and Aer Lingus operations at LHR and DUB?

Integration of BA and Aer Lingus operations at LHR and DUB?

Old Jul 2, 19, 10:31 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Programs: BA GGL, CCR, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium Elite
Posts: 141
Integration of BA and Aer Lingus operations at LHR and DUB?

Has anyone heard whether this is planned, by moving EI to T5 or T3 at LHR and BA to T2 at DUB?

There must be considerable savings to be made at both ends even without any rationalisation of the flight schedules (which have some takeover / regulatory restrictions anyway as far as EI is concerned).

BAís operation at DUB is just awful. The T1 lounge is a joke and the trek across the tarmac is pretty tedious.
HFHFFlyer is offline  
Old Jul 2, 19, 10:36 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: LCY
Programs: SAS Eurobonus Gold Card
Posts: 101
T3 at LHR isn't set up for domestic/Irish flights hence why Flybe and Aer Lingus are in T2 and T5 doesn't have room so can't see it happening anytime soon.
george77300 likes this.
citiflyerUK is offline  
Old Jul 2, 19, 10:40 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Accor Gold
Posts: 906
Any chance you could put a question mark in the title of the thread?

Thought it was news, rather than a speculative question.
bhbloke is offline  
Old Jul 2, 19, 11:39 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Platinum & Ambassador
Posts: 10,616
Just for fun if there were to be any terminal changes etc I would see them being in this order of priority but depending on issues such as 'completing' T5C and improving facilities / shops / lounge and then building T5D a different order of practicality

1 All BA flights from T3 move to T5 - simplifies BA ops at LHR. Also reduces costs such as not operating T3 lounge,other staff savings removing duplicate functions, and eliminates lounge hopping (I can hear the wails of complaint already lol). Improves passenger connection experience.

2. AA move from T3 to T5 - eliminates the need for intra terminal transfers, reduces connection time and improves passenger experience, reduced airside traffic (so benefits the environment / saves HAL money). Chance for remaining OW airlines to reconfigure locations - MH/QR from T4 (which could happen if just BA move from T3). AA really need to move en-masse as they won't want split their ops between terminals.

3. Other OW airlines depending on size and numbers of connecting pax to/from BA but there could be a case of retaining T3 as the 2nd OW base

4. EI move to T5

I'll put my crayons away now!
UKtravelbear is online now  
Old Jul 2, 19, 12:36 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LCY/DUB
Posts: 2,878
Originally Posted by HFHFFlyer View Post
Has anyone heard whether this is planned, by moving EI to T5 or T3 at LHR and BA to T2 at DUB?

There must be considerable savings to be made at both ends even without any rationalisation of the flight schedules (which have some takeover / regulatory restrictions anyway as far as EI is concerned).

BAís operation at DUB is just awful. The T1 lounge is a joke and the trek across the tarmac is pretty tedious.
Whatever about LHR, moving from T1 to T2 in DUB would be a retrograde step. The benefit of an air bridge is more than outweighed by the negative of severe gate and apron congestion at T2. Iíd love to see stats comparing actual turnaround times between T2 and T1, Iíd imagine they are materially different.

As for the lounges, I donít use them in DUB unless there is a delay, they arenít great in either terminal IMO.
Kgmm77 is online now  
Old Jul 2, 19, 1:01 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 143
It seems that they are happy operating as separate entities but they sell connecting tickets on each other without consistent pricing. This probably suits the different markets at which they aim.

Judging by Twitter, EI is struggling with connecting baggage at the moment, especially if it’s not EI-EI.
Davidjonesk is offline  
Old Jul 2, 19, 1:06 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,459
Originally Posted by UKtravelbear View Post
Just for fun if there were to be any terminal changes etc I would see them being in this order of priority but depending on issues such as 'completing' T5C and improving facilities / shops / lounge and then building T5D a different order of practicality

1 All BA flights from T3 move to T5 - simplifies BA ops at LHR. Also reduces costs such as not operating T3 lounge,other staff savings removing duplicate functions, and eliminates lounge hopping (I can hear the wails of complaint already lol). Improves passenger connection experience.

2. AA move from T3 to T5 - eliminates the need for intra terminal transfers, reduces connection time and improves passenger experience, reduced airside traffic (so benefits the environment / saves HAL money). Chance for remaining OW airlines to reconfigure locations - MH/QR from T4 (which could happen if just BA move from T3). AA really need to move en-masse as they won't want split their ops between terminals.

3. Other OW airlines depending on size and numbers of connecting pax to/from BA but there could be a case of retaining T3 as the 2nd OW base

4. EI move to T5

I'll put my crayons away now!
I don't think T5 even with the 4th terminal is big enough for AA. I can quite see QF moving over.
rapidex is online now  
Old Jul 2, 19, 1:09 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,731
Originally Posted by HFHFFlyer View Post
Has anyone heard whether this is planned, by moving EI to T5 or T3 at LHR and BA to T2 at DUB?
No it will not be happening anytime soon. EI are happy with their home at LHR T2 and their own Lounge. The passenger experience is pretty decent in DUB T2 and LHR T2 so no reason to do something that would change this. No room for BA at DUB T2 either EY and QR cant even get in for the longhaul flights so no chance they would make space for BA for hops to London.
DELLAS is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread