BA website problems

Reply

Old Jun 15, 19, 6:40 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2009
Programs: BA Gold/Marriott Platinum
Posts: 144
BA website problems

For the last few days I've been trying to check availability and prices on ba.com by logging in to my account, using the drop down box to select book with money and upgrade with avios, entering the airports, dates, class that I want to upgrade from, tick both ways and then when i hit enter it just takes me to another screen which is blank as below. Its really frustrating. I've cleared cookies, deleted history, tried it on my work laptop and my home laptop and its the same on Chrome and Internet explorer. Any ideas?

platinumstar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 19, 6:46 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Swindon UK, San Diego USA
Programs: BAEC, FB, QANTAS, IHG, Hilton, Marriott, AVIS Preferred
Posts: 807
I've just tried to do the same and had no issues at all.
vibrex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 19, 6:51 pm
  #3  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 12,255
Have you tried setting your browser to ‘private’? Sometimes that works when a particular website plays up.
Tobias-UK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 2:41 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,238
Thus is a long-standing issue with certain airports. I reported it to BA on Twitter, they acknowledged it but havenít fixed it yet. Itís been like this for months, on all browsers. Try MIA to Marsh Harbour, for example.
armouredant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 3:09 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: London(ish)
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 314
I've been seeing bigs on the BA website constantly but most recently in the past two weeks. I am having to log out and back in again before anything wants to work.

Future flights are also constantly missing and reappearing.
eugegall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 7:02 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Basel
Posts: 405
Originally Posted by eugegall View Post
I've been seeing bigs on the BA website constantly
I love this typo. A bug makes it sound like a small issue. We should all start using "bigs" when referring to more major website issues.
Mordac and eugegall like this.
adrianlondon is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread