Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Ba166 just landed without cover part on left engine [normal ops using reverse thrust]

Ba166 just landed without cover part on left engine [normal ops using reverse thrust]

Old May 30, 19, 3:16 am
Suspended
Original Poster

I didn't have time to make picture
Old May 30, 19, 3:27 am

Programs: BAEC Gold, IHG Spire Elite
Isnít this normal during reverse thrust?
Old May 30, 19, 3:42 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Yes my mistake
Old May 30, 19, 4:46 am
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
For the benefit of those of us who have not memorised both the entire BA timetable and BA's fleet, this is TLV to LHR, and it is a 777-200, G-VIIO. And as a layman, I think this is referring to the reverse thrust stage just after landing, when briefly the blue "thing" on top of the engine retracts for up to a minute or so, and then slides back into place. And nothing to be alarmed about, unless it doesn't happen I suppose.
Old May 30, 19, 4:56 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
And nothing to be alarmed about, unless it doesn't happen I suppose.
I don't even think it's necessarily anything to be alarmed about if it doesn't happen on landing. IIRC, reverse thrust is usually not critical to landing performance.
MSPeconomist, KARFA and DeathSlam like this.
Old May 30, 19, 4:58 am

Programs: BAEC Silver