Wiki Posts
Search

Avios 50% Bonus Sale - should I buy?

Search this Thread

Old May 9, 2019, 10:02 am
Original Poster

Programs: BAEC Gold
Avios 50% Bonus Sale - should I buy?

I am not very experienced with using Avios. I have only ever done one redemption flight so I am not familiar with the purchasing power (or lack of it) of Avios. I wonder if you could give me some guidance... I have done many searches to find previous posts on the subject but haven't found anything that has helped much.

I am Gold status, I fly a few times a year to EU destinations but don't mind flying ET for flights under 4hrs, once or twice a year I will do a TATL (BOS, JFK, ORD) usually in CW. For these TATLs I try to go ex-EU.

My question then is given that I am certainly flying a few times over the next few years should I purchase the max amount of Avios in the sale at 50% bonus? That would be 300,000 Avios (200K + 100K bonus) for Ł3,215?

Would I then get better value by using these for redemptions, UuA or PPwA. Whenever I have priced up TATL redemptions they have still required significant cash payments for taxes etc and when I price the same flights up without using Avios the cash isn't always significantly different. I have to admit to being a bit confused as to where it is best to use Avios and whether it is worthwhile buying them in the sale?

Can you help?
Old May 9, 2019, 10:14 am

Programs: BA Gold
I wouldn't, but each person has to decide for themselves. Avios, limited availability, don't earn TP or Avios. Cash complete flexibility. Avios devalued are the whim of the 'bank' that issues them. Cash far more stable.
Old May 9, 2019, 10:20 am

Programs: BA Silver
Buying Avios can be good value if you have a specific plan to use them short term. I would not buy with a plan to use them over a few years. They could easily be worth much less by then and in any case these offers to buy at discounted prices come round every few months anyway.
SK and DeathSlam like this.