Sometimes Ba cabin crew are wrong!

Reply

Old Apr 27, 19, 3:46 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: London
Programs: qantas | BAEC | Hilton Honors | Priority Pass
Posts: 331
I flew into JFK T7 on BA last week and was given a customs form to fill out on the aircraft.

As per a post in the link that @Soupdragon62 posted, it wasn't needed at the manned immigration booth I went through, nor when I went through the customs area subsequently. I have an ESTA and didn't have GE at the time (though I do now).
peter h is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 4:11 pm
  #17  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 8,552
Originally Posted by MTJ Bound View Post
Fail to give me one that I might need and Iíll hold the airline liable.
Liable for a lost billing hour through a delay at customs? I'll watch for the court case
golfmad is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 4:28 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ORF
Programs: Amex Plat, AA, BA Silver, WN, SPG Gold, Choice Platinum, HHonors Gold, IHG Spire, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 3,357
I think if I were billing a thousand an hour (even in US dollars) I wouldn't waste my time on FT.
lwildernorva is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 4:36 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Programs: BAEC Silver, Virgin Flying Club, SPG
Posts: 613
Originally Posted by MTJ Bound View Post


So 50 people can pass you in line? Hell no. Give me a form I don’t need and I wouldn’t care. Fail to give me one that I might need and I’ll hold the airline liable. I bill well over a thousand dollars an hour. Ever minute counts.
And I can just tell you're worth EVERY cent.
Magic01273 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 4:51 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: Rapid Rewards, AAdvantage, SkyMiles, Non-Rev Life
Posts: 2,657
Don't you get to skip all of that junk if you have Global Entry?
DCP2016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 4:52 pm
  #21  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 8,552
Originally Posted by DCP2016 View Post
Don't you get to skip all of that junk if you have Global Entry?
With Global Entry there is no requirement to complete a paper customs form.
golfmad is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 5:25 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: BAEC Gold, *A Gold
Posts: 119
No forms required in Boston even when not using the kiosk (entering on visa).
WorldClub is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 19, 9:48 pm
  #23  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Freeload Univ. Where are you sitting?
Posts: 13,435
Originally Posted by MTJ Bound View Post
So 50 people can pass you in line? Hell no. Give me a form I donít need and I wouldnít care. Fail to give me one that I might need and Iíll hold the airline liable. I bill well over a thousand dollars an hour. Ever minute counts.
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
And still fly commercial. Lame
How appropriate your handle is.DYKWIA.
BigLar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 12:04 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,342
Sometimes ba cabin crew are wrong; in other late breaking news, the Pope is Catholic, one legged Ducks swim in circles and bears sometimes sha la la la in the woods. Of course crew are sometimes wrong, no one is infallible; anyone expecting that infallibility is a thing is in for a life of constant disappointment. It's a bit like expecting lawyers to have a heart, it's a pipe dream.
Waterhorse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 1:25 am
  #25  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London, NYC, LCA
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 95
there seems to be degree of inconsistency with various ports of entry, at ORD 3 weeks ago forms given out on board by BA crew but not needed by CBP. just stepped off BA293 where forms were not proactively offered at LAX due to massive lines was directed to US citizen line for APC customs officers still asked for forms
ClubflyerLondon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 1:31 am
  #26  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,735
Originally Posted by golfmad View Post
With Global Entry there is no requirement to complete a paper customs form.
and rarely any queues with GE as well. A very smart investment if your time is worth a lot of money
djbenedict likes this.
KARFA is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 2:09 am
  #27  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 314
If you really want one for peace of mind then just download one and use it if requested.

https://www.cbp.gov/document/forms/f...glish-fillable
Cap'n Benj likes this.
endoman is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 2:51 am
  #28  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: LBA
Programs: KLM FB Gold, BA
Posts: 259
Sometimes the APC kiosks are not working, or are switched off because there aren't enough personnel to oversee them.
If you can, it is best to obtain a customs form during the flight and fill it in *before* landing.
You then have a backup available, and don't have to go searching for a form and a pen in the immigration hall.
You don't want to be one of the first off the plane, then end up at the back of the immigration queue.
Silver Fox and expataus like this.
mikem004 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 3:12 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, United Kingdom
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold;BA GGL, CCR; hhonors diamond; SPG LTG ; IH Plat Amb; Amex Centurion;
Posts: 4,399
Originally Posted by Waterhorse View Post
... . It's a bit like expecting lawyers to have a heart, it's a pipe dream.
Some of us are quite nice really. Really
antichef and Waterhorse like this.
hsmall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 19, 4:11 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 877
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post


and rarely any queues with GE as well. A very smart investment if your time is worth a lot of money
Very true. My time is worth next to nothing, I have GE because I make my life easier where I can. It paid for itself fully for me in one domestic flight originating in MCO when the non TSA-Pre queue seemed to stretch to Tampa.
Silver Fox, KARFA and djbenedict like this.
dougzz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread