Expertflyer availability changing

Old Apr 27, 19, 5:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 63
Expertflyer availability changing

Morning all.

A couple of questions born of observation:
Tomorrow’s LHR-JFK BA175 had something like F1 J9 W6 Y3 yesterday. Y quickly became 0 yet today it is back to Y3 or Y4.
With F0, J5 & W3 today does this mean that Y was overbooked and hence people have been shuffled forward to make room at the back?
The Y seat next to me was showing as held on Expertflyer and is now showing as occupied.

Assuming this to be correct, what is the earliest that people have seen an operation boarding pass change on their BA app? I’ve had 3 LH op-ups; 1 on board and the other 2 prior to boarding (W-CW LHR-HKG was the best, especially as a lowly Bronze).

This is my first LH as a GCH and my first time of using Expertflyer. All very interesting.

Cat5 in the Hat is offline  
Old Apr 27, 19, 5:33 am
  #2  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,500
It's probably people cancelling, or BA adding extra Y seats knowing that they can shuffle people forward at checkin if Y is oversold.
DYKWIA is online now  
Old Apr 27, 19, 1:23 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 36,802
Originally Posted by Cat5 in the Hat View Post
This is my first LH as a GCH and my first time of using Expertflyer. All very interesting.
Don't forget that as an outsider, trying to make sense of this is akin to reading tea leaves. Especially when the numbers tell you nothing about how much space the airline expects still to have on the flight, only how many more reservations it's prepared to take at any one time.
nancypants likes this.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Apr 28, 19, 2:34 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 63
Thanks both. @Globaliser I concur. It’s like learning a foreign language.

FWIW when I checked the BA app in my taxi I’d already had an op-up to W. Happy days.
Tobias-UK likes this.
Cat5 in the Hat is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 7:33 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Programs: BAEC, SPG
Posts: 34
Slightly different question - i have a seat reserved in y as a silver card holder on BA177 LHR JFK next friday. Expert flyer on their seat map shows my chosen seat as available. Is it just slow to update (i reserved the seat months ago)?
dibbs98 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 7:43 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 321
Originally Posted by dibbs98 View Post
Slightly different question - i have a seat reserved in y as a silver card holder on BA177 LHR JFK next friday. Expert flyer on their seat map shows my chosen seat as available. Is it just slow to update (i reserved the seat months ago)?
I would assume you don't in fact have the seat allocated to you - EF is usually totally accurate and updates within seconds of a seat selection being saved in MMB (in my experience)
Starship73 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 7:47 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Programs: BAEC, SPG
Posts: 34
Thanks starship, I just logged in to BA app and it atill shows as assigned to me so do you think i’ll be booted to middle row seat on check in?!
dibbs98 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 7:52 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Programs: Mucci de l'Arbitrage
Posts: 924
I’d go and play with the seat map in MMB and see what happens eg move to another seat, validate, move back to original seat, validate. Any issues would quickly be visible to you.
Takiteasy is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 8:02 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 321
Originally Posted by dibbs98 View Post
Thanks starship, I just logged in to BA app and it atill shows as assigned to me so do you think i’ll be booted to middle row seat on check in?!
Are you 100% sure you are looking at the correct flight in EF?
Starship73 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 10:21 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Programs: BAEC, SPG
Posts: 34
Thanks yes was looking at correct flight, will try again later in case its a glitch
dibbs98 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 10:36 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 30,134
Did the seat map for the rest of the cabin match up? Was it just your selection that didn’t match between EF and MMB?

my experience has been like others, so EF is pretty much instantaneous reflecting changes.
KARFA is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: