LHR Terminal logistics

Reply

Old Apr 23, 19, 8:32 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin TX.
Programs: AA GLD (1MM), Hyatt PLT, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 771
LHR Terminal logistics

I have a flight in F to Vancouver in May. I didnít realize until today that it departs from Terminal 3. I connect from Leeds into T5 earlier in the day and was planning a visit to the Concorde Room.
When I arrive at LHR will they force me to transit straight to T3 or will I be allowed to enter T5 and transfer later in the afternoon ?
g1ant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:39 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,228
Hi. Unfortunately you will not be able to go in the airside departures area in T5 where the CCR is unless you have a bp for a flight departing T5. Your only choices are to go to flight connections and to the airside bus to T3, or to follow the yellow signs for arrivals which will take you landside. There is some more information in the connection guide linked to in the dashboard if you need any details on the connection.

In T3 you can use any of the AA/BA/CX F lounges, or the QF lounge.

Last edited by KARFA; Apr 23, 19 at 8:53 am
KARFA is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:41 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,347
This question has cropped up a lot over the past couple of weeks. I presume just coincidence but seems a strangely live issue.
Ldnn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:42 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA (GOLD), VS
Posts: 9,712
You won't get access to the CCR - see these recent posts asking the same question

GLA-LAS - use Concorde lounge?

Domestic T5 arrival xfer T3. Can I visit CCR?
UKtravelbear is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:48 am
  #5  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Honors Diamond
Posts: 3,845
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
Hi. Unfortunately you will not be able to go in the airside departures area in T5 where the CCR is unless you have a bp for a flight departing T5. Your only choices are to go to flight connections and to the airside bus to T3, or to follow the yellow signs for arrivals which will take you landside. There is some more information in the connection guide linked to in the dashboard if you need any details on the connection.

In T3 you can use any of the AA/BA/CX F lounges, or the QR lounge.
The QR lounge is not in T3 though. I think you mean the QF lounge.
george77300 and KARFA like this.
florens is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:52 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin TX.
Programs: AA GLD (1MM), Hyatt PLT, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 771
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
Hi. Unfortunately you will not be able to go in the airside departures area in T5 where the CCR is unless you have a bp for a flight departing T5. Your only choices are to go to flight connections and to the airside bus to T3, or to follow the yellow signs for arrivals which will take you landside. There is some more information in the connection guide linked to in the dashboard if you need any details on the connection.

In T3 you can use any of the AA/BA/CX F lounges, or the QR lounge.
I suspected as much. It looks like Iíll be paying a visit to the CX F lounge for the first time. No big deal.
I had breakfast with you a few years ago in the CCR on one of your hop throughs from Dublin.
g1ant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:53 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,228
Originally Posted by florens View Post
The QR lounge is not in T3 though. I think you mean the QF lounge.
Well done you have passed the test - a deliberate error to check who is paying attention

now amended my post
florens, aidy, EDIwanderer and 1 others like this.
KARFA is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 8:58 am
  #8  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 38,022
Originally Posted by Ldnn1 View Post
This question has cropped up a lot over the past couple of weeks. I presume just coincidence but seems a strangely live issue.
Yes, I was thinking that too. I'm guessing it's a combination of less-frequent travellers being limbering up to travel at this stage, and also the various deals going for First at the moment. Someone in the Concorde Team yesterday said that they thought numbers were well up on a year ago.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 9:00 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 25,228
Originally Posted by g1ant View Post
I had breakfast with you a few years ago in the CCR on one of your hop throughs from Dublin.
Of course I remember now. Hopefully will bump in to you again sometime soon
KARFA is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 19, 9:14 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin TX.
Programs: AA GLD (1MM), Hyatt PLT, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 771
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Yes, I was thinking that too. I'm guessing it's a combination of less-frequent travellers being limbering up to travel at this stage, and also the various deals going for First at the moment. Someone in the Concorde Team yesterday said that they thought numbers were well up on a year ago.
In my case, Iím far from being an infrequent traveller. I just made a very rookie mistake of assuming that all BA longhaul went out of T5 these days.
It wasnít till I talked to BA about booking a spa treatment that I found out Iím out of T3. Oops.
Not the first time Iíve done LHR-YVR either!!
g1ant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 19, 5:50 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, IHG Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 608
Given that this has cropped up on here a fair bit this year, it seems to be a concern for a number of First travellers. I had a CEO who always said that if you wanted to do something, really wanted to do something, you would find a way. The rest of the time, you find an excuse.

The First product from T3 is inferior to the T5 product. If BA "really" wanted to add further value to the First product from T3, is it really beyond them to allow all F passengers to enter T5 to use the CCR and then use the Jaguars for an air side transfer direct to the aircraft? I imagine most would not take them up on it. Perhaps it could be a booked service similar through You First, similar to booking an Elemis treatment.so demand can be managed. It may even be a precursor to a full on LH ,model of this service for all First passengers. On BA, from lounge to aircraft is a weak link in the First product in most airports, especially the home bases.

As I said, it seems to be important to a number of First passengers flying from T3. If BA "wanted" to do it, I am sure it is not beyond the wit of invention.
HarryHolden68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 19, 6:26 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 616
Originally Posted by HarryHolden68 View Post
Given that this has cropped up on here a fair bit this year, it seems to be a concern for a number of First travellers. I had a CEO who always said that if you wanted to do something, really wanted to do something, you would find a way. The rest of the time, you find an excuse.

The First product from T3 is inferior to the T5 product. If BA "really" wanted to add further value to the First product from T3, is it really beyond them to allow all F passengers to enter T5 to use the CCR and then use the Jaguars for an air side transfer direct to the aircraft? I imagine most would not take them up on it. Perhaps it could be a booked service similar through You First, similar to booking an Elemis treatment.so demand can be managed. It may even be a precursor to a full on LH ,model of this service for all First passengers. On BA, from lounge to aircraft is a weak link in the First product in most airports, especially the home bases.

As I said, it seems to be important to a number of First passengers flying from T3. If BA "wanted" to do it, I am sure it is not beyond the wit of invention.
While clearly anything is possible with sufficient motivation, I suspect that letting T3 pax through T5 security would require a significant change to HALís systems. It would probably be easier and better for customers just to create another CCR-style lounge in T3.
fruitcage is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 19, 6:30 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,909
Originally Posted by HarryHolden68 View Post
As I said, it seems to be important to a number of First passengers flying from T3. If BA "wanted" to do it, I am sure it is not beyond the wit of invention.
Originally Posted by fruitcage View Post
While clearly anything is possible with sufficient motivation, I suspect that letting T3 pax through T5 security would require a significant change to HALís systems. It would probably be easier and better for customers just to create another CCR-style lounge in T3.
Or just use the already excellent CX F lounge that, in some people's opinion including my own, is better than the T5 CCR?
fruitcage and wrp96 like this.
rossmacd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 19, 6:36 am
  #14  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 38,022
Originally Posted by fruitcage View Post


While clearly anything is possible with sufficient motivation, I suspect that letting T3 pax through T5 security would require a significant change to HALís systems. It would probably be easier and better for customers just to create another CCR-style lounge in T3.
BA does already offer this service to VVIPs, and there is also the domestic transfers to T3 where the Jags go to the BA bus gates in T3. This allows a transfer without needing another security check, and avoids issues if the T3 gate isn't ready - passengers are placed directly airside and can go off to the lounge or gate. So there could be a shuttle from A10 to T3 either on demand or according to a timetable. The problem is how to handle this within Ready to Fly since all passengers airside in T5 should have a current T5 boarding pass - I think BA are OK with one or two exceptions per day, but not for dozens of passengers. The Concorde Team is aware that many T3 passengers would prefer to use CCR.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 19, 6:37 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, IHG Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 608
Originally Posted by rossmacd View Post
Or just use the already excellent CX F lounge that, in some people's opinion including my own, is better than the T5 CCR?
I've tried it twice, once when it was empty, once when it was pretty much full. Didn't enjoy either experience. It's ok as such, but too small with nowhere to hide out of the way and far from relaxing for me.
Also, no cabanas (not for everyone I know but still absent), no terrace, no table service in seating area and somewhat standoffish service in the dining area.
Noodles were nothing special - I think my local Chinese takeaway does them better.

I do not know if I am in a minority of one here, but I do not think the CX lounge is anything special to get excited about.
HarryHolden68 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread