API information deleted?

Old Apr 17, 19, 6:11 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Programs: BA Exec Silver IHG Platinum, Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 313
API information deleted?



Wondering if this is a unique problem to me. I’ve now experienced API information disappear from future bookings on more than 4 occasions now.

Its all the info from my passport details to the address in the US which has been removed. Although the other traveller (husband) details are also partially missing some of them, like his date of birth seem to have stuck.

Both of of us have up to date BA profiles so I called BA to ask why the information was being removed, on one booking I know it’s been input twice already, once when I booked and again when I noticed it was missing and now it’s gone again. The response is that it’s “probably a security process to ensure that the details are absolutely correct”.

Im at a bit of a loss. I’ve decided that for future bookings I’m simply going to wait until just before departure to fill them in however just wanted to check there are no implications to doing this. Is there a deadline at which point BA will take action if the details aren’t there - e.g a week before travel or something like that?




scottish minnie is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 6:21 am
  #2  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 43,299
I've had it occasionally, just update until you get the tick sign on MMB. It used to be particularly prevalent on mixed AA and BA bookings since (e.g.) middle names would get doubled or even tripled up.

The scan of bookings by the DHS is constant after 72 hours so the sooner the better, but you can just do it at the airport an hour from departure.

I wouldn't worry about it.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 6:54 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Programs: BAEC Gold, Lufthansa
Posts: 77
This happens to me every time I book a flight to the US - my API information disappears no matter how often I enter it, even once I get the green tick in MMB. I have spoken to BA about this a few times but no one seems to know how to resolve it. That said, I haven't had any problems entering the US and my TSA Pre-check / Global Entry still works fine. It's a (rather annoying) mystery... If you find a way to stop it in future, please do share!
abligh likes this.
Inselhuepfer is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 7:10 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: near Heathrow
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL (OWE), SA LifePlat (*G), BD Gold to the end, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,934
My API sometimes doesn't stick on the BA website where the booking is an AA ticketed booking with BA flights in it. No matter how many times I enter it, it's gone when I go back into the BA version of the PNR on ba.com
I've assumed it's down to BA's creaky IT and it's never prevented me flying.
gcuk is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 9:10 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Left coast US & "a tiny island across the sea"
Programs: MUCCI, BAEC GCH (currently), AA LTG (FWIW)
Posts: 2,186
Originally Posted by Inselhuepfer View Post
This happens to me every time I book a flight to the US - my API information disappears no matter how often I enter it, even once I get the green tick in MMB. I have spoken to BA about this a few times but no one seems to know how to resolve it. That said, I haven't had any problems entering the US and my TSA Pre-check / Global Entry still works fine. It's a (rather annoying) mystery... If you find a way to stop it in future, please do share!
+1.

rb211.
RB211 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 9:47 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 6,180


+1

Mind often shows as missing when it’s not

I don’t worry about it anymore
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 9:51 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold; Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 1,780
This seems to be a perennial problem for many, including me. If my first flight is operated by AA then there's rarely a problem as I check in with AA and the API information entered via their website and confirmed via the AA app always seems to be all present and correct and is usually passed to BA intact. However, when it comes to BA it's a different matter altogether. As others have said, random pieces of information drop off. I will have the green tick immediately after completing the form, and when I next look at the booking there's a red cross and something needs to be re-entered. It's never been a real issue for me except on one occasion when flying via JFK where I couldn't get my JFK - LHR boarding pass because BA's systems insisted on seeing my Green Card, even for a flight to the UK.
Geordie405 is offline  
Old Apr 17, 19, 10:29 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Programs: BA Exec Silver IHG Platinum, Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 313
Ive never had an AA flight, these are all on BA Aircraft via their own website. Clearly we are just a very exclusive bunch of travellers
scottish minnie is offline  
Old Oct 13, 19, 1:07 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: US/Europe
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 1,125
Probably same/similar issue.

Upcoming return flight - booked on ba.com and both out/return both BA flights/ticketed. Had put all the info in and outward flight okay - so API must have been okay. Now find all my API info has gone for the return - no API information in there at all, so re-entered all the data - no errors, exited, and MMB still says API needed. Tried 3 times - AIP won't keep the information. (Each time on exit it says 'complete', then MMB says it's incomplete - confirmatory email is non-committal!)

Same initial issue with Mrs CKBA, although API had remembered most of her details, and once the 'missing' data had been entered that data stuck. Uhmmmm....

Last edited by CKBA; Oct 13, 19 at 6:43 pm
CKBA is offline  
Old Oct 13, 19, 2:51 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: EDI
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 447
I have to key it every time, which is a pain. I've been to the USA three times in the last three weeks and its really annoying. I now now all my passport details from memory; previously I just knew the number but now I also know the dates....
HighwayToHEL is offline  
Old Oct 13, 19, 3:22 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 178
Originally Posted by scottish minnie View Post
Ive never had an AA flight, these are all on BA Aircraft via their own website. Clearly we are just a very exclusive bunch of travellers
...or rather excluded bunch of travellers it seems!
Knodde is offline  
Old Oct 15, 19, 1:47 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: US/Europe
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 1,125
Update on my API issue: after phong BA it looks like the check in agent on the outbound flight put my known-traveller number in as my Green Card number, which somehow screwed up all my information... .
CKBA is offline  
Old Oct 15, 19, 3:04 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Left coast US & "a tiny island across the sea"
Programs: MUCCI, BAEC GCH (currently), AA LTG (FWIW)
Posts: 2,186
Originally Posted by CKBA View Post
Update on my API issue: after phong BA it looks like the check in agent on the outbound flight put my known-traveller number in as my Green Card number, which somehow screwed up all my information... .
That'll do it!

rb211.
RB211 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: