One runway blocked at LHR

Old Feb 1, 19, 11:59 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 195
One runway blocked at LHR

Just sitting on plane at the gate on 17:45 to AMS, just been told one runway closed due to a plane being stuck on it.

Told a 45 min wait
likethis is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:03 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 613
There is a Etihad A380 which looks like it hasn't moved from the north runway on FR24 - could be that one.
Forever in Seattle is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:16 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 195
Somewhat annoyingly I read on Twitter this happened an hour ago, before we’d boarded. Only when they’ve safely got everyone in and locked up do they share the bad news.
likethis is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:28 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: LFT
Programs: No longer lowly AA Gold, lots of AA, AS & DL miles & BA Avios, some UA miles, former CO Plat
Posts: 8,058
Originally Posted by marcosscriven View Post
Just sitting on plane at the gate on 17:45 to AMS, just been told one runway closed due to a plane being stuck on it.

Told a 45 min wait
Is this due to the snowstorm?
jlemon is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:36 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Scotland, Spain
Programs: Skywards Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 644
Seems to be sorted now?
marconess is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:37 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Scotland, Spain
Programs: Skywards Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 644
The Etihad plane seems to be sitting south of the runway.
https://www.flightradar24.com/BAW731/1f5dc95f
marconess is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:38 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 36,476
Originally Posted by marcosscriven View Post
Only when they’ve safely got everyone in and locked up do they share the bad news.
Is it one of those situations in which you can't get into the queue for takeoff until you're fully boarded and the doors are shut?
Globaliser is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 12:46 pm
  #8  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver, Mucci
Posts: 8,610
Originally Posted by marcosscriven View Post
Somewhat annoyingly I read on Twitter this happened an hour ago, before we’d boarded. Only when they’ve safely got everyone in and locked up do they share the bad news.
I think this actually makes sense.

Once boarded and the Captain and the aircraft is ready to go then for whatever the reason, temporary weather, debris, technical or any other reason then as soon as it re-opens then ATC will be ready to sort which aircraft are all set to go, in the queue. I'd honestly rather that than wait until it re-opens and then start the boarding process.

The apron and runway movements can be very dynamic and delays can indeed shorten, I've experienced that myself a few times, however in some cases aircraft may have to wait a little longer.
Tobias-UK, T8191 and Schwann like this.
PETER01 is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 1:05 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Programs: BA GGL, TK Elite
Posts: 2,487
Not looking great:

Edit: giving up on trying to post the picture - lots of red on the departure board...
LCY8737 is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 1:41 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 59K
Posts: 2,176
Rumour is that they tried to come off at an exit that was notified closed (and has been for a while) and had to be towed off the runway.
Jumbodriver is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 2:09 pm
  #11  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 42,367
Originally Posted by Jumbodriver View Post
Rumour is that they tried to come off at an exit that was notified closed (and has been for a while) and had to be towed off the runway.
Ooops. Mind you with so much building work going on in that area I'm surprised it doesn't happen more often.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 4:41 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Cambridgeshire
Programs: BAEC Gold; Accor Gold
Posts: 97
My arrival from DME this evening was held up for about 20 minutes as we had to land on the 'other' runway. I can imagine delays piling up over this.
Travelling Inspector is offline  
Old Feb 1, 19, 6:47 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold; FB Silver; SPG; IHG Gold
Posts: 2,048
My LHR- VIE flight this evening was about 90 minutes late but there was no mention of this earlier problem. Instead we were told "staff shortages" in ATC between here and Vienna. Not heard that one before- sounds very British Rail.
South London Bon Viveur is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: