Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Is there a way to check if a specific plane is ‘old’?

Old Jan 22, 19, 4:37 pm
Original Poster

Hi everyone,

sorry if this I a silly question, or has been covered before. I’m fairly new to this.

I flew with my son last year from LHR to JFK, on BA WTP. The flight there was decent, and featured the newer model of IFE etc. We were very disappointed on the return flight, which had the same IFE onboard as when I flew when I was pregnant with my son 14 years ago. The plane was shabby and felt scruffy.

We’re booking flights to Miami in J, and wanted to know if we could avoid this. Also, is it even an issue in J class? Or have the premium cabins been updated on the old planes? If not, what is the older J product like?

Thanks in advance!
Old Jan 22, 19, 4:46 pm
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
It is a complex area, and it depends on the aircraft. For 777s I need to have multiple coffees to work it out.

If you know the seat numbering system you can work out the precise variant of the aircraft, then look at the aircraft details in thebasource.com and that mentions the IFE system. The SuperJ 747s all have Panasonics, which is just about the best in the air at the moment of any airline. Thales isn't too bad either, it's the Rockwell-Collins that are problematic.