Check-in issues at LHR T5 - 20/12/2018

Old Dec 20, 18, 10:20 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,835
Check-in issues at LHR T5 - 20/12/2018

OH is at T5 right now and apparently there are issues with the check-in system, which means that agents are unable to check in passengers and/or luggage.
ringingup is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:25 am
  #2  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,835
Apparently he was the first or among the first to be hit by the issue. Flight's at 6:20 pm. It's very tight.
ringingup is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:31 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Programs: Mucci de l'Arbitrage
Posts: 925
Looks like itís network wide. Same at GVA and same for my mate at the BA desk in ARN. No luggage check-in.
Takiteasy is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:31 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,835
Apparently CX is also affected. Do they also use FLY?
ringingup is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:32 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: london
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 68
Same in T3 no check-in available for all BA passengers for the past 30 minutes!
Mike Gold is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:34 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: LH SEN; BA Gold
Posts: 8,365
Could this possibly be linked to the MMB/OLCI problems that have been reported?
WorldLux is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:35 am
  #7  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 48,478
Originally Posted by ringingup View Post
Apparently CX is also affected. Do they also use FLY?
No, but they use the Altťa back office system, also used by FLY, which gives us a clue that it's further down the food chain than FLY.

When this happened last time, it took about an hour to recover the system (and rather longer to sort out the flights on the ground).
EDIwanderer and mario like this.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:45 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 695
Originally Posted by WorldLux View Post
Could this possibly be linked to the MMB/OLCI problems that have been reported?
MMB isn't working for me, and the call centre says their servers are down.
cauchy is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:47 am
  #9  
Ambassador: World of Hyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK - the nearest airport is named after a motorway !
Posts: 4,007
and trying to book flights on ba.com gets an error message 'sorry, we don't fly that route' (for lhr-jnb)....
Stewie Mac is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:52 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Programs: Mucci de l'Arbitrage
Posts: 925
​​​​Looks like itís restarting.
For future use is there a live status page for Amadeus anywhere?
Takiteasy is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 10:54 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,351
I got off the phone to them a minute ago and they are saying Amadeus is down and I should call back at 10pm.
callum9999 is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 11:06 am
  #12  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 48,478
The details are in the LGW thread, but we now have confirmation from BA that Pegasus and Amadeus are currently having system issues.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 11:08 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 695
Originally Posted by Takiteasy View Post
​​​​Looks like itís restarting.
For future use is there a live status page for Amadeus anywhere?
Yes, managed to get into MMB and could cancel my flight.
cauchy is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 11:09 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: HHonors Diamond, SPG Plat, BA Gold
Posts: 366
After quite a few error messages, managed to OLCI check for my flight tomorrow through the app !
kosy91 is offline  
Old Dec 20, 18, 11:23 am
  #15  
gms
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South East, UK
Programs: BA Gold / GfL, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,221
Huge queues at T5 now. Announcements saying you cannot go through security until 90 mins before your flight
gms is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: