Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

First class check in " 'what is TSA Pre-check?

First class check in " 'what is TSA Pre-check?

Reply

Old Dec 19, 18, 12:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA, BA Gold, Accor, Honors Diamond and lots more....
Posts: 2,139
First class check in " 'what is TSA Pre-check?

Showing on our LHR to JFK printed boarding passes but not on the onward. However showing on mobile AA passes

When questioned neither of the first class agents had heard of TSA Pre-check

They then said 'perhaps it is not used in the USA'!

At that point I said I'll leave it

Amazed that they had never heard of it Puzzling why the onward passes do not have it
GentleGiant is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 12:41 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: OOL/DOH
Programs: QF LTS WP, Avis Pres Club, HH Diam.
Posts: 3,151
It means you get to skip most of the security theatre in the USA.

No shoes off stuff.
VH-RMD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 1:36 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the air
Programs: BA Gold, Marriott Amb, Hilton Diamond, AMEX Plat
Posts: 5,606
Originally Posted by VH-RMD View Post
It means you get to skip most of the security theatre in the USA.

No shoes off stuff.
I'm going to guess that the OP was aware of this...
EuropeanPete is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 1:42 am
  #4  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 37,690
Originally Posted by GentleGiant View Post
Puzzling why the onward passes do not have it
To my mind that's logical. A BA issued boarding pass is drawing on its own data and Amadeus. An AA issued boarding pass does likewise only their GDS is SABRE.So BA tell you what they know (even if for a UK depart it's incorrect, the relevance is of course for the return to the UK), and AA have their own ownership of Pre-Check, based on a separate arrangement they have with the TSA. The fact you have Pre-check on your subsequent flight is all due to AA, not BA. I know one could mutter about seemless travel, but over in the real world.....
GentleGiant, nancypants and wrp96 like this.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 1:42 am
  #5  
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA, BA Gold, Accor, Honors Diamond and lots more....
Posts: 2,139
Originally Posted by EuropeanPete View Post
I'm going to guess that the OP was aware of this...
Haha yes

​​​​​​We have global entry as well

My point is that the first class check in staff at T5 had never heard of it!
Silver Fox likes this.
GentleGiant is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 3:08 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold / OW Emerald
Posts: 533
To be fair this is one of the many instances of American exceptionalism... after a while you forget about them
thebigben is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 9:16 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MIA/TMB/X51/OPF/MTH
Programs: AA Elite, Again!
Posts: 52
As a current resident The U.S. of A. I understand why you think that way.
Nomorepretzels is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 9:31 am
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 40,214
Originally Posted by GentleGiant View Post
Haha yes

​​​​​​We have global entry as well

My point is that the first class check in staff at T5 had never heard of it!
This is a BA IT faul and there is no reason why BA staff at LHR should be aware of what TSA Pre-Check is.

As GE participants, you are eligible for expedited security processing (Pre-Check) when departing a US airport on a carrier participating in Pre-Check. BA is a participant. Thus, when you check in for your return flight to the UK, the Pre-Check logo should appear and you will then be able to use the Pre-Check line at TSA. BA's IT should suppress the printing of the logo on a departure from other than the US, but it apparently does not.

If you are flying onwards on AA, simply check-in on the AA app or pull a new AA boarding pass at any kiosk or from any AA agent on arrival and, presuming that you have properly entered your GE number in your AA profile, you should see the Pre-Check logo.

If for any reason you have not entered your GE number in your AA profile, you can do that online, by phone, or with any agent on arrival. Depending on the time of day, there may even be AA agents wandering around the CBP sterile area who can assist from a tablet.
Often1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 9:50 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold; Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 1,495
One thing to be aware of is that if you have PreCheck and you are selected for additional security screening at LHR then you will almost certainly not get PreCheck on any subsequent AA operated flights in the USA that are on the same booking, and your boarding passes for those flights may be marked SSSS even though the security screening took place at London.

By way of an example, I was flying LHR - DFW and was selected for extra screening at LHR. My onward AA boarding passes also had SSSS on them. By going to a kiosk at DFW and re-entering my KTN and reprinting the boarding passes the SSSS was removed and PreCheck was once again available.

The fact that the AA terminal at DFW has certain security lines that don't always participate in PreCheck is another thing altogether. The reverse is true at SEA where they have at least one checkpoint that is PreCheck only!
Geordie405 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 9:52 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR
Posts: 554
Originally Posted by Geordie405 View Post
One thing to be aware of is that if you have PreCheck and you are selected for additional security screening at LHR then you will almost certainly not get PreCheck on any subsequent AA operated flights in the USA that are on the same booking, and your boarding passes for those flights may be marked SSSS even though the security screening took place at London.
I've had the opposite experience. I've had SSSS in London on an AA flight and Precheck on the boarding pass for the entire rest of the itinerary. The SSSS I believe was triggered by a last minute flight change.
Beaulieu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 9:53 am
  #11  
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA, BA Gold, Accor, Honors Diamond and lots more....
Posts: 2,139
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
This is a BA IT faul and there is no reason why BA staff at LHR should be aware of what TSA Pre-Check is.

As GE participants, you are eligible for expedited security processing (Pre-Check) when departing a US airport on a carrier participating in Pre-Check. BA is a participant. Thus, when you check in for your return flight to the UK, the Pre-Check logo should appear and you will then be able to use the Pre-Check line at TSA. BA's IT should suppress the printing of the logo on a departure from other than the US, but it apparently does not.

If you are flying onwards on AA, simply check-in on the AA app or pull a new AA boarding pass at any kiosk or from any AA agent on arrival and, presuming that you have properly entered your GE number in your AA profile, you should see the Pre-Check logo.

If for any reason you have not entered your GE number in your AA profile, you can do that online, by phone, or with any agent on arrival. Depending on the time of day, there may even be AA agents wandering around the CBP sterile area who can assist from a tablet.

​​​​​​​Can't say I agree.

If BA print a boarding pass for the internal leg on AA they should be aware of Pre-check. I doubt I am the first or the last to ask why it is not showing, especially when they print it on the BA ticket.

Sure as was said earlier the system may not allow the data, but the check-in staff especially in first, should be aware of such and advise accordingly.

Let's face it there are not any other countries that have this and so it would not be much to learn

To say that they have never heard of it when BA are part of it smacks of poor training.

If it isn't possible then fair enough but just say that instead of showing ignorance

Their colleague in the CCR wasn't too impressed and said they should have known, but sadly many are poor. He did ask which colored name badge they wore as this indicates their status apparently

Last edited by GentleGiant; Dec 19, 18 at 10:06 am
GentleGiant is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 10:02 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold; Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 1,495
Originally Posted by Beaulieu View Post
I've had the opposite experience. I've had SSSS in London on an AA flight and Precheck on the boarding pass for the entire rest of the itinerary. The SSSS I believe was triggered by a last minute flight change.
Interesting! When I asked about the missing PreCheck I was told it was because of the SSSS at LHR and should resolve itself en route once systems had been updated that I had been screened and was on board. At the end of the day PreCheck is never guaranteed so I suppose part of it is randomized to keep you guessing
Geordie405 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 10:09 am
  #13  
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA, BA Gold, Accor, Honors Diamond and lots more....
Posts: 2,139
Originally Posted by Geordie405 View Post
Interesting! When I asked about the missing PreCheck I was told it was because of the SSSS at LHR and should resolve itself en route once systems had been updated that I had been screened and was on board. At the end of the day PreCheck is never guaranteed so I suppose part of it is randomized to keep you guessing
Agree. Never guaranteed. However having it on my mobile boarding passes for both of us one would expect it on the printed version from BA.

As it may not be possible, no issues there. Just was surprised that two people had never heard of it.
GentleGiant is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 10:17 am
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 40,214
Originally Posted by GentleGiant View Post
​​​​​​​Can't say I agree.

If BA print a boarding pass for the internal leg on AA they should be aware of Pre-check. I doubt I am the first or the last to ask why it is not showing, especially when they print it on the BA ticket.

Sure as was said earlier the system may not allow the data, but the check-in staff especially in first, should be aware of such and advise accordingly.

Let's face it there are not any other countries that have this and so it would not be much to learn

To say that they have never heard of it when BA are part of it smacks of poor training.

If it isn't possible then fair enough but just say that instead of showing ignorance

Their colleague in the CCR wasn't too impressed and said they should have known, but sadly many are poor. He did ask which colored name badge they wore as this indicates their status apparently
It is not possible for BA to print the Pre-Check logo on a physical BP for an AA-operated flight. That part is not a BA IT failure, but an intended limitation of the DHS system.

BA ought to simply suppress the logo on BP's issued for departures other than from the US and that would be the end of the many speculative questions asked on FT and elsewhere about what it does and does not mean. DGS does not particularly care if BA prints the logo on such BP's as the logo has no effect.

On your return, you should have access to Pre-Check at wherever you depart from.
Often1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 18, 10:27 am
  #15  
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA, BA Gold, Accor, Honors Diamond and lots more....
Posts: 2,139
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
It is not possible for BA to print the Pre-Check logo on a physical BP for an AA-operated flight. That part is not a BA IT failure, but an intended limitation of the DHS system.

BA ought to simply suppress the logo on BP's issued for departures other than from the US and that would be the end of the many speculative questions asked on FT and elsewhere about what it does and does not mean. DGS does not particularly care if BA prints the logo on such BP's as the logo has no effect.

On your return, you should have access to Pre-Check at wherever you depart from.
Agree. But the check-in staff should at least know what it is!
no2blues likes this.
GentleGiant is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread