Reward seats

Old Nov 9, 18, 3:08 am
Original Poster

Reward seats

I believe BA put 2 Business Class seats and 4 Economy seats up for Avios redemption on each flight, but what is the First Class allocation? I've been saving for 3 years and got up to 580,000 Avios so far (and not far off getting a 2 for 1 voucher too) and likely be going for a LHR to JFK at some point in the next year. As i have never flown outside Europe or anything better than KLM to Amsterdam or Monarch flight Ibiza i'm really wanting to try First as it will likely be the only opportunity i will ever have but compared to Business Class the seats available seem very sparse or extremely sparse on other routes like LHR to LAX. If i cannot get First is the difference between Business and First that much on the North American routes?
Old Nov 9, 18, 3:10 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Programs: AF/KL Life Plat, BA CCR, A3 G, Aclub Plat, Hilton D, IC Plat Amb, Starwood G, blablablah, etc
There is no fixed/guaranteed allocation for F or W. It can vary from flight to flight, including 0. So for instance, many an A380 to LAX will go without any award seat having been offered in F.

The difference between J and F varies by aircraft type and route. I would say that on LHR-JFK, first there are so many flights that if you are flexible with dates, it should be quite easy to get an F seat offered at one point or another. Second, the difference between J and F is not really huge, especially on the 747 which has a really nice upper deck J cabin and an F cabin which I personally like but which is older and less generous than on newer aircrafts like the A380 or 789. Especially currently with J getting excellent food on this route and until the F food is reviewed in 2019, it may make sense to save your avios.

On a route like LAX, I would say that the difference is bigger, especially if you are on the A380 or 789 flight (less so on the 744 which is usually the Hi J as for JFK).