Gluten Free SML in F

Old Oct 13, 18, 9:42 am
Original Poster

Programs: MUCCI; BAEC Lifetime Gold; TG ROP Silver; Marriott Bonvoy Emeritus Titanium; Hertz#1
Gluten Free SML in F

In a coule of weeks we are off to DEL in F. My friend is on a gluten and diary free diet and, having seen the menu for the outgoing flight on MMB, is considering ordering a SML.

Before going down that route we would like get any feedback from others who have tried GF offerings in F.

TIA
Old Oct 13, 18, 1:05 pm

Well I have no experience but often the special meals in First are not great. Many people prefer to adapt the original menu.
Old Oct 13, 18, 1:45 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Programs: AF/KL Life Plat, BA GfL+CCR, Aclub Plat, Hilton Diam, Marriott Gold, blablablah, etc
SPML in F and J are the same ones.
Old Oct 13, 18, 2:25 pm

Programs: BA GGL, Gold for life
Am not sure you can get a gluten and dairy free meal on BA. Gluten free meals are fairly likely to have dairy and vegan meals are fairly likely to have gluten. Asian vegetarian is probably the best bet but you still risk the meal having paneer cheese,
Old Oct 14, 18, 2:49 am

Programs: BAEC (Bronze), IHG (Plat)
Originally Posted by MarkFlies View Post
Well I have no experience but often the special meals in First are not great. Many people prefer to adapt the original menu.
Special meals in F (or J) really aren't all that special !! My wife requires a gluten free diet, and as you say, has just adapted the regular offerings. In F at least. In Y or CE she just goes for the special meal.
OP, on your booking you should be able to see the menu prior to your flight, and it will list the allergens in each meal, so can choose and pre-order a meal that suits, assuming there is a gluten free AND dairy free option. On board, there is also the "chefs chat" sheet, which should again detail allergens in any menu items.