Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Anyone flying GIG-LHR in the very near future

Old Oct 11, 18, 4:45 am
Original Poster

Hello

Odd request and mods feel free to remove it if it is not appropriate/allowed. I am an artist and created an installation on police violence in Rio de Janeiro. It's called Outros Registros, you can read more on outrosregistros.wordpress.com
I am going to show it in London in November but unfortunately, part of the equipment is still in Rio de Janeiro. It was supposed to come back with some people in September but miscommunication messed that up so I need to find a way to get it over to the UK. Sending it back via DHL is prohibitively expensive (we are talking about 8 speakers and stands at a combined weight of around 70 kilos in three boxes). Is there any kind soul who is travelling from Rio to London in the coming weeks who might be able to take these boxes with him/her. I can obviously pick them up at Heathrow.
Old Oct 11, 18, 5:52 am
DVT

Programs: BA Gold
Good luck, but I doubt you'll get many takers to bring back random stuff from South America.
Old Oct 11, 18, 6:17 am
Original Poster

The organisation that has the equipment now has a good reputation but indeed, it's a long shot.
Old Oct 11, 18, 6:20 am

Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Diamond, IHG Spire
Have you looked into renting here in the UK? I doubt anyone would take such a risk...
Old Oct 11, 18, 6:38 am
Original Poster

Yes, but we cannot find what we need. Unfortunately, this is an almost-zero-budget project. I tried getting it on loan from a University but they have not got back to me. So I am now trying to find alternative ways to get the equipment from Brazil.
Old Oct 11, 18, 7:14 am

Originally Posted by Thinksamuel View Post