FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   British Airways | Executive Club (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/british-airways-executive-club-446/)
-   -   Upgrading Avis car booked through BA Holidays? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/british-airways-executive-club/1924875-upgrading-avis-car-booked-through-ba-holidays.html)

oceanscape Aug 13, 2018 3:23 am

Upgrading Avis car booked through BA Holidays?

We booked a BA Holiday and the best Avis car they offered was not at the category we would have liked; assume it is possible to upgrade at the desk (subject to availability) but just wanted to check in case there is any weird BA Holidays restrictions on this?

Can I upgrade beforehand by calling Avis directly?

Any tips for making the process as smooth as possible; we usually use Sixt so I have no experience with Avis - e.g. should I join "preferred" etc. - might that help?

Thanks!

Sparkyfletch Aug 13, 2018 3:36 am

Upgrading at destination often works out cheaper and you are paying in local currency too. Each depot seems to be a profit centre or a franchise in my experience and will negotiate. Join Avis Preferred at no cost as it often has a desk with a shorter queue.

lcylocal Aug 13, 2018 4:11 am

I think YMMV on this. As one data point I have been at the INV office when they have been struggling for sufficient vehicles and any changes were being done by calculating the walk-up rate for what was being asked for and then subtracting the value of the voucher, with customer paying the differrence. This obviously didn’t lead to a particularly attractive rate for the customer.

From my own (limited) personal experience I would be more confident in relying on your approach for a USA destination than a UK one.