BA/AA ticket issue

Old Aug 7, 18, 1:00 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
BA/AA ticket issue

To make a long story short. AA changed time of one segment and I’d still be over the Atlantic. So, BA changed the segment, I called them, and set me up with a new flight. All is well. But, have an extra segment now: PHL-PIT.
AA said BA needs to delete segment.
Previous: LHR-PHI-PIT
Now: LHR-JFK-PIT
I’ll be in PIT now as planned way before the PHI-PIT even takes off.

What do I do?
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 1:02 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 37
I had this issue too. BA Twitter team got it sorted for me.
Mater is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 1:56 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Originally Posted by Mater View Post
I had this issue too. BA Twitter team got it sorted for me.
I just sent them a tweet.
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 2:25 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Is there a time frame for a response on Twitter?
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 3:10 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 37
Usually within a couple of hours from experience.
Mater is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 3:59 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Originally Posted by Mater View Post
Usually within a couple of hours from experience.
Thanks.
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 7:23 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: London
Programs: Honors Diamond
Posts: 71
Operating/Marketing PNR

This is an operating PNR.

Operating PNRs are a GDSs solution to dealing with CODESHARES. There is a system which feeds CODESHARE bookings from the marketing airlines GDS to the OPERATING airlines GDS so reservations can be seen in one another’s reservations systems.

When both airlines (your marketing / operating airline) use the same GDS, its fine as we can access both your operating PNR and your selling PNR to enable changes to be made (as one of your PNRs will hold information segments which in that booking are there for info only.... they aren’t the live segments if you want to call them that)

When it comes to BA and AA, BA use Amadeus. AA use SABRE. So we cant access your marketing PNR/operating PNR. Operating PNRs also have limitations and one of those is the ability to delete some segments.

Chances are that extra PHL - PIT (if that’s the extra segment, cant remember) is an information only segment (but to you will show as a normal sector booking) so isnt holding seats out from sale... and if it is, we know its due to operating PNR limitations and revenue management take into account this when it comes to overbooking flights (as they know there is a certain amount of dupe booking that goes on due to feeding across of bookings across reservation systems)

Especially as the sector is way after your journey is completed, I really wouldn’t stress.... Worst that could happen is the “extra segment” created a false “no show auto cancellation” but there would be no more sectors to auto cancel.

I’d only say if you have any more flights on that PNR after the dodgy segment then ensure AA/BA have protected the booking from autocancellation.

Have you been given a new ticket number yet from the reissue?
ThisIsntOM is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 7:37 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Originally Posted by ThisIsntOM View Post
This is an operating PNR.

Operating PNRs are a GDSs solution to dealing with CODESHARES. There is a system which feeds CODESHARE bookings from the marketing airlines GDS to the OPERATING airlines GDS so reservations can be seen in one another’s reservations systems.

When both airlines (your marketing / operating airline) use the same GDS, its fine as we can access both your operating PNR and your selling PNR to enable changes to be made (as one of your PNRs will hold information segments which in that booking are there for info only.... they aren’t the live segments if you want to call them that)

When it comes to BA and AA, BA use Amadeus. AA use SABRE. So we cant access your marketing PNR/operating PNR. Operating PNRs also have limitations and one of those is the ability to delete some segments.

Chances are that extra PHL - PIT (if that’s the extra segment, cant remember) is an information only segment (but to you will show as a normal sector booking) so isnt holding seats out from sale... and if it is, we know its due to operating PNR limitations and revenue management take into account this when it comes to overbooking flights (as they know there is a certain amount of dupe booking that goes on due to feeding across of bookings across reservation systems)

Especially as the sector is way after your journey is completed, I really wouldn’t stress.... Worst that could happen is the “extra segment” created a false “no show auto cancellation” but there would be no more sectors to auto cancel.

I’d only say if you have any more flights on that PNR after the dodgy segment then ensure AA/BA have protected the booking from autocancellation.

Have you been given a new ticket number yet from the reissue?
No, no new ticket. All I have are two PNRs. One BA and one AA. I’ve been able to access these both. I’m not going to worry about this, as you fully explained this to me, and I thank you. BA Twitter team haven’t responded. I’m sure they are busy and have to deal with others who have more pressing needs.
The BA PNR has the correct ITN, and the AA has the extra segment.
So, which PNR do I check in at PIT? I’m assuming BA, but I’ll have both print out with me, just in case.
My ITN:
PIT-JFK-LHR
LHR-JFK-PIT
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 7:50 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: London
Programs: Honors Diamond
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by CosmosHuman View Post


No, no new ticket. All I have are two PNRs. One BA and one AA. I’ve been able to access these both. I’m not going to worry about this, as you fully explained this to me, and I thank you. BA Twitter team haven’t responded. I’m sure they are busy and have to deal with others who have more pressing needs.
The BA PNR has the correct ITN, and the AA has the extra segment.
So, which PNR do I check in at PIT? I’m assuming BA, but I’ll have both print out with me, just in case.
My ITN:
PIT-JFK-LHR
LHR-JFK-PIT
2 PNRs is normal (operating/marketing)

Just depends who your checking in with...

By the sounds of things, BA is the live PNR. Is your LHR - JFK operated by BA or AA?
ThisIsntOM is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 7:56 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Originally Posted by ThisIsntOM View Post

2 PNRs is normal (operating/marketing)

Just depends who your checking in with...

By the sounds of things, BA is the live PNR. Is your LHR - JFK operated by BA or AA?
LHR-JFK is AA.
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 7:58 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: London
Programs: Honors Diamond
Posts: 71
On another note, something I would keep an eye out for is your reissued ticket number before you travel.

For some reason unbeknown to me, most of our call centres set up a reissue, then queue it off to a ticket issue queue to be issued. This doesn’t always get done (I dont know why!) and then you’ll be inconvienienced with regards to online servicing/checking in of your booking and also probably have to visit a reservations agent at the airport.

If you have the new ticket number, then you know its been done and wont have the above.
ThisIsntOM is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 8:03 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Thank you. I’ll look through my emails for a ticket number.
CosmosHuman is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 8:05 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: London
Programs: Honors Diamond
Posts: 71
If your checking in on AA.com, check in with the AA reference.
ThisIsntOM is offline  
Old Aug 7, 18, 8:07 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CLE
Posts: 1,828
Originally Posted by ThisIsntOM View Post
If your checking in on AA.com, check in with the AA reference.
Thank you, and I have done so.
Now, I can go to sleep happy, well, trying.
CosmosHuman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread