Mandatory passport check

Reply

Old Jul 10, 18, 6:42 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: British Airways | Executive Club silver
Posts: 97
Mandatory passport check

Recently I've made 2 trips to Europe using hand luggage only
i check in online and printed out the boarding passes , on the boarding pass in red it days my passport has to be checked prior to boarding
do I have to get passport checked at check in desk / bag drop off ? or can I do it after security at the gate
both my trips I did it at check in desks and got a strange look when I said I had no luggage to check in
andyh1877 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 18, 6:47 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Munich, Algarve, Sussex or S.F Bay Area
Programs: BA Gold, A3*Gold, AA Plat, HH Gold, IHG Plat, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,588
Originally Posted by andyh1877 View Post
Recently I've made 2 trips to Europe using hand luggage only
i check in online and printed out the boarding passes , on the boarding pass in red it days my passport has to be checked prior to boarding
do I have to get passport checked at check in desk / bag drop off ? or can I do it after security at the gate
both my trips I did it at check in desks and got a strange look when I said I had no luggage to check in
Just flash your passport when boarding as you would normally do anyway.
Tafflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 18, 6:57 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: HPN
Programs: BA Bronze (OWR)
Posts: 317
At JFK in the past Iíve travelled HBO, went straight through security and been paged to go to the BA customer service desk for a passport check.

Last edited by rpjs; Jul 10, 18 at 7:03 am
rpjs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 18, 7:00 am
  #4  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 35,910
It's effectively just a reminder to have your passport with you, since if HBO the gate check is the only time you will be asked for your passport before boarding. There was a brief period when BA tried to get passengers on HBO to get their passports checked before security (it was connected with not doing passport checks at the gate and thinking of future e-gate initiatives} I think it lasted 2 days before being abandoned. Apart from that odd experiment, nothing has changed in this area in 20 years.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 18, 10:07 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: FB AF Silver, BA Gold
Posts: 10,650
It is indeed standard procedure to check passport at the gate; no need to do it at check in counter.

Note that some Schengen countries (e.g. France) have reinstated gate passport/ID control within Schengen.
brunos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 18, 2:04 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rowe Mesa, NM - USA
Programs: DL, UA, WN, Amtrak, Hyatt, La Quinta, BW
Posts: 1,733
When I'm carry-on only I always go to the gate desk to have my passport cleared. Then I don't get paged to do so.
Dianne47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 12:45 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Brussels
Programs: Etihad Guest, Aegean & some other almost useless M&M programs; BA One World; spg; HHonors; Accor...
Posts: 20
I wouldn't worry about it - they will ask for it when they need it....
Shiv01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 2:25 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NYC/BOS/MSY/AUH
Programs: AA EXP, 5MM; BA GLD
Posts: 15,281
When departing LHR T5, I cannot get through the automated gates leading to security without getting my passport checked, even when I've successfully checked in online.
I've traveled around the world multiple times, almost always HBO, and have never once received a strange look.
Blumie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 4:27 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Scotland
Programs: BA Gold, Marriott Lifetime Plat, HH Diamond, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,433
Up to a couple of years ago, they needed to see yor passport before you got to the gate (entering the lounge was normally where mine got looked at).

However, IIRC I was told one day at the EDI lounge that the system had changed and as long as BA had your passport details in their system (for many of us that means in their Exec Club profile), the check was no longer required

P.S. That was just for European flights
thegoderic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 18, 4:13 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London, mostly
Programs: BAEC Silver, bmi (RIP) ex-silver, and a fistful of Amexes
Posts: 154
I've had something similar recently-- it appears to be a problem with dual citizenship (I'm Canada/UK) and which passport gets picked up in the booking. Some of this is daft: heading for continental Europe, neither Canada nor UK require visa, of course. And it's unhelpful that BAEC only put space for one passport in the profile.
sky-rat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 18, 3:15 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 34,033
Originally Posted by sky-rat View Post
And it's unhelpful that BAEC only put space for one passport in the profile.
Isn't the answer to this one to not put any passport details into the BAEC profile, and simply add the appropriate passport details to each booking? This is what I do for two separate family members, one of whom is a conventional dual national. The other has the usual mess of issues with different Hong Kong-based travel documents in different names. It takes about 30 seconds to do on each booking - usually rather less time than it takes to pick seats.
Globaliser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 18, 7:34 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Programs: BA/EK/VS Gold, Coutts Silk, Centurion
Posts: 1,183
I get the sense this is more than just a reminder.... more like what to expect post-Brexit. I've flown from Finland twice and not been able to print a boarding pass without a manual passport check. I've had separate checks at FRA prior to boarding a connecting flight to LHR, and similarly my other half couldn't print a connecting boarding pass via STR so had to go to Flight Connections for a passport check. We both have European passports so shouldn't be an issue....... sign of times to come I suspect and ramping up or testing methods perhaps. Locally they state its a UK requirement (if they state anything at all).
YClass is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 18, 7:42 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6,973
Originally Posted by YClass View Post
I get the sense this is more than just a reminder.... more like what to expect post-Brexit. I've flown from Finland twice and not been able to print a boarding pass without a manual passport check. I've had separate checks at FRA prior to boarding a connecting flight to LHR, and similarly my other half couldn't print a connecting boarding pass via STR so had to go to Flight Connections for a passport check. We both have European passports so shouldn't be an issue....... sign of times to come I suspect and ramping up or testing methods perhaps. Locally they state its a UK requirement (if they state anything at all).
It's nothing to do with Brexit.
Silver Fox, argonath and thebigben like this.
Ldnn1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 18, 7:56 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Programs: BA/EK/VS Gold, Coutts Silk, Centurion
Posts: 1,183
Originally Posted by Ldnn1 View Post
It's nothing to do with Brexit.
I sincerely hope you're right. What is it though? Seems like everything becoming more onerous......
YClass is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 18, 8:27 am
  #15  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 35,910
Originally Posted by YClass View Post
I sincerely hope you're right. What is it though? Seems like everything becoming more onerous......
The usual cause is that someone didn't book the flight in BA.com and/or their API data isn't in there and/or the passport is close to expiry date (within 6 months). Amadeus comes with a subset of API data of its own and if it conflicts with FLY then you or the agent needs to resolve it. It is actually more likely to happen on services not involving the EU since API is more widespread outside the EU than inside it. But yes, nothing to do with Brexit, apparently there are some aspects of every day life which don't.
Silver Fox likes this.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: