Fickle Stepdaughter

Old Jun 2, 18, 4:35 pm
Original Poster

Question Fickle Stepdaughter

Hello, all:

Relative noob here.

My girlfriend and I are taking her two daughters and the fiance of the older daughter PHX/LHR/PHX in a week. We bought three seats in WT for the kids and paid to assign them in advance so they had their own row. Despite previous firm commitments, the younger daughter simply doesn't want to go now.
Seat is non-refundable.
My Question: Since I paid for the empty seat, will BA honor the return flight by keeping that seat vacant for the other two? My fear is that BA will cancel the return leg because the outward leg was a no-show and could then re-sell it.

Thank you in advance!
Old Jun 2, 18, 4:40 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
No, BA will not.

As soon as she no shows for the outbound, BA will cancel her ticket and fill the seat. In both directions, not simply the return. If the flight is overbooked and at risk of oversale, this will simply reduce the number of passengers denied boarding.

The ticket will retain whatever value it has under its fare rules, which is presumably nothing.

BA, just like other carriers, counts on a certain percentage of no shows.
Old Jun 2, 18, 4:42 pm

Programs: BAEC Gold
You might want to look into getting a comfort seat arranged to guarantee the space.
Old Jun 2, 18, 4:51 pm
Hilton Contributor Badge

Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, Hilton Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Although the seat may be non-refundable, you may be able to use the value at some future point. Do you know the actual fare basis for the ticket, not just in economy or fare code O.
Old Jun 2, 18, 5:05 pm
Original Poster

Wow! Thank you for the quick and informative replies.

I called BA about what options I had, but they would only return the $150 USD security fee if I cancelled. No credit, transfers, etc.

I am not familiar with a comfort seat. Would you please elaborate?

Please know that I am very grateful for everyone's assistance.