Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Jet Time operating for mainline BA at LHR this summer

Jet Time operating for mainline BA at LHR this summer

Old Apr 3, 18, 7:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London and Edinburgh
Programs: BA GGL, British Midland Lifetime* Gold, Marriott Lifetime Premier Platinum
Posts: 7,417
Jet Time operating for mainline BA at LHR this summer

Looks like BA once again is wetleasing Jet Time for some flights this summer - just noticed it on a GLA-LHR flight in June. This seems to be over and above the Titan-operated flights at LGW.

The last time this happened, Jet Time used a 737 that required remote stand/bus at all airports and forcibly gate-checked everyone's rollaboard luggage, leading to delays. BA was also inconsistent about allowing customers with existing bookings to switch to "proper" BA flights.

Check your bookings!
ajamieson is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 10:42 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,536
So far BA have contracted Titan Germania and Jet Time, and are still looking for more aircraft.
rapidex is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 11:11 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Programs: BA, EK, IHG, SPG
Posts: 25,604
Originally Posted by rapidex View Post
So far BA have contracted Titan Germania and Jet Time, and are still looking for more aircraft.
You forgot Aer Lingus, BA CityFlyer and NEOS, that well-known Italian holiday charter airline.
Raffles is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 12:13 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Programs: BA - Gold for Life, CCR & GGL; IC Spire Elite Ambassador; Diamond Hilton Honors; Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 6,650
Plus Jota Aviation.
TravellerFrequently is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 2:48 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: BA Exec Club Gold, *G, EK Skywards Silver
Posts: 485
Originally Posted by TravellerFrequently View Post
Plus Jota Aviation.
BA Cityflyer have used them on an adhoc basis over the past few years. BA Mainline have never.

As for Jet-Time - this is also incorrect.
surryson is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 6:44 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,536
Originally Posted by Raffles View Post
You forgot Aer Lingus, BA CityFlyer and NEOS, that well-known Italian holiday charter airline.
Indeed I did. And I used to work for NEOS..
rapidex is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 9:02 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Programs: BA - Gold for Life, CCR & GGL; IC Spire Elite Ambassador; Diamond Hilton Honors; Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 6,650
Originally Posted by surryson View Post
BA Cityflyer have used them on an adhoc basis over the past few years. BA Mainline have never.

As for Jet-Time - this is also incorrect.
Oops.

Missed the LHR part.
TravellerFrequently is offline  
Old Apr 3, 18, 9:50 pm
  #8  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Diamond, SAS Eurobonus Gold, Marriott Titanium (LTP), Hilton Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 9,869
Originally Posted by ajamieson View Post
Looks like BA once again is wetleasing Jet Time for some flights this summer - just noticed it on a GLA-LHR flight in June. This seems to be over and above the Titan-operated flights at LGW.

The last time this happened, Jet Time used a 737 that required remote stand/bus at all airports and forcibly gate-checked everyone's rollaboard luggage, leading to delays. BA was also inconsistent about allowing customers with existing bookings to switch to "proper" BA flights.

Check your bookings!
I used Jet Time a couple of time between LHR and CPH when they were running that route last time. Generally I preferred them to the "proper" BA flights on the same route.

In LHR it was always a remote stand, but in Copenhagen it was at the terminal. Is T5 not capable of attaching jetways to 737s,,was it just random coinsidence, or another operational reason? No problems with my carry on for those flights.
CPH-Flyer is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 12:47 am
  #9  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Honors Diamond
Posts: 4,138
Originally Posted by CPH-Flyer View Post
I used Jet Time a couple of time between LHR and CPH when they were running that route last time. Generally I preferred them to the "proper" BA flights on the same route.

In LHR it was always a remote stand, but in Copenhagen it was at the terminal. Is T5 not capable of attaching jetways to 737s,,was it just random coinsidence, or another operational reason? No problems with my carry on for those flights.
I think all Jet Time 737s operated from remote stands because T5 was not designed for 737s (no markings on the ground, probably other things too like airbridges, and whatnot).
florens is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 1:32 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Flatland
Programs: AA EP 1MM, BA Gold, UA Peon
Posts: 5,443
I think there are also baggage handling issues with 737s at T5 because it assumes all baggage is in cans and 737s don't usually use cans, baggage is loose loaded. So I think these are easier to handle at a remote stand.
flatlander is online now  
Old Apr 4, 18, 1:47 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Berkhamsted, UK
Programs: BAEC Bronze
Posts: 102
It begs the question why base the JetTime 737 at Heathrow, and not swap it with a Titan 320 at Gatwick?
luxurytravelled is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 1:52 am
  #12  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Diamond, SAS Eurobonus Gold, Marriott Titanium (LTP), Hilton Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 9,869
Originally Posted by flatlander View Post
I think there are also baggage handling issues with 737s at T5 because it assumes all baggage is in cans and 737s don't usually use cans, baggage is loose loaded. So I think these are easier to handle at a remote stand.
Interetsing, so that means that the even BA A319s will be with containers for hold luggage. I thought it was relatively rare for the A319/A320 to use containers.
CPH-Flyer is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 2:00 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London and Edinburgh
Programs: BA GGL, British Midland Lifetime* Gold, Marriott Lifetime Premier Platinum
Posts: 7,417
For the short-of-memory, this is the 2016 thread about Jet Time's last sojourn with BA, including the somewhat odd policy of forcibly gate-checking all wheely bags. It starts off with a lot of assurances that the service will be very similar to BA, the ends with people's actual experiences painting a somewhat different picture!

I wonder if the same issue will occur with RFS wrongly being unavailable on Jet Time-operated flights?
ajamieson is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 3:48 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
Does anyone know when what dates BA are leasing aircraft?
Scotflyer80 is offline  
Old Apr 4, 18, 3:55 am
  #15  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Honors Diamond
Posts: 4,138
Originally Posted by ajamieson View Post
For the short-of-memory, this is the 2016 thread about Jet Time's last sojourn with BA, including the somewhat odd policy of forcibly gate-checking all wheely bags. It starts off with a lot of assurances that the service will be very similar to BA, the ends with people's actual experiences painting a somewhat different picture!

I wonder if the same issue will occur with RFS wrongly being unavailable on Jet Time-operated flights?
I travelled in 2016 on a Jettime flight and could bring my wheely bag onboard.
florens is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread