Connecting from AA to BA at JFK T8-T7

Old Mar 19, 18, 12:28 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 264
Connecting from AA to BA at JFK T8-T7

Quick question as I can't find the answer on Google or FT.

When connecting from a domestic AA flight to a BA TATL at JFK will my bags be through checked if I am on one pnr. I am flying from ORD to INV. (Long story short the extra 40tp will be useful)

I have sussed out the airtrain and will have enough time but was worried I would have to wait at baggage reclaim in T8 before making my way to T7.
Cw novice is offline  
Old Mar 19, 18, 12:29 pm
  #2  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cumbria
Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, Hilton Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 4,438
Yes they will.

ringingup and frank_poulankh like this.
madfish is offline  
Old Mar 19, 18, 1:35 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MAD
Programs: IB+, BAEC
Posts: 2,372
Also, if you don't know JFK T7 all that well, the fast track security is to the left as it may not be immediately obvious in the rather small entry way. Security can definitely be an annoying mess there.
LupineChemist is offline  
Old Mar 19, 18, 5:01 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,291
Originally Posted by LupineChemist View Post
Also, if you don't know JFK T7 all that well, the fast track security is to the left as it may not be immediately obvious in the rather small entry way. Security can definitely be an annoying mess there.
The eternal JFK question....to Fast Track or not to Fast Track...last week it was almost 40mins to the front of the line. I almost struggle to believe the non-Fast Track line is as slow...

One of the big benefits of F is the escort to the front of the line.
Fraser is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 4:04 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MAD
Programs: IB+, BAEC
Posts: 2,372
Originally Posted by Fraser View Post
The eternal JFK question....to Fast Track or not to Fast Track...last week it was almost 40mins to the front of the line. I almost struggle to believe the non-Fast Track line is as slow...

One of the big benefits of F is the escort to the front of the line.
Before I had status, I've had to wait well over an hour in non-Fast Track. Now if I'm using T7, I try to get there early to avoid the mess as even the GC there is better than standing in security. But the real trick is to just fly AA from T8, get TSA Precheck, and use the far, far superior Flagship Lounge.
LupineChemist is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 6:05 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Madrid
Programs: BA GfL
Posts: 142
Just over a year ago I was doing the T8-AA > T7-BA transfer, without check-in bags. The airtrain was down, and had been for some time. The airport bus service couldn't cope - huge crowds, no queuing, chaos, so it was close to fist fights at the bus stop!

I had a tight connection and an onwards flight from LHR, so couldn't afford to miss my flight. It was my first transfer at JFK and wasn't familiar with my options. Solution: used a bootleg taxi between terminals, he wanted $40 but got it for $30. I guess I could have negotiated more, but wasn't prepared to miss my flight.

Really hope the air train works for you!
Lost-in-Space is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 6:26 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Flatland
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold 1MM, BA Gold, UA Peon
Posts: 5,715
The temporary fast track is both narrow and overcrowded and has passive-roller tray shelves running uphill, so you have to keep pushing your stuff uphill in the boxes for it to reach the scanner instead of rolling away downhill, while also trying to unpack the rest of your stuff.

Work of ... genius.

I frankly think LHR T7 was worse than Stansted last time I went through it, certainly not better, which is quite an achievement. I was even in F, so got to jump most of the security queue and relax in the CCR after struggling across the terminal for a shower and back to the CCR. Horrible place.

It needs an airside T8 to T7 transfer bus.
flatlander is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 6:33 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,781
Originally Posted by flatlander View Post
It needs an airside T8 to T7 transfer bus.
There used to be one before the AirTrain was built.
ajamieson likes this.
Dave_C is online now  
Old Mar 20, 18, 6:58 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 2,224
Originally Posted by flatlander View Post
It needs an airside T8 to T7 transfer bus.
Originally Posted by Dave_C View Post
There used to be one before the AirTrain was built.
It is a mystery* to me why DL can do this between T2 and T4 but AA/BA cannot manage it between T7 and T8. The other mystery* is why BA has not managed to join TSA Pre yet.

*I know these aren't really mysteries at all, just too expensive for the bean counters.
Dave_C, justforfun, wrp96 and 2 others like this.
Steve_ZA is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 7:33 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Ayrshire
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, IHG Spire Ambassador, HH Diamond, Scandic Top Floor
Posts: 137
Didn't want to start a new thread as a similar question to OP. Is there a guide somewhere (similar to the one in the Wiki here for transferring at LHR) for transferring in JFK from BA to AA (outbound) and for AA to BA (inbound journey) at JFK ? I've tried searching both BA and AA forums without much success.

Thanks

DtB
Down the back is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 7:40 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Fareham, UK
Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, Hilton Diamond, EuroBonus Gold, SPG Plat,
Posts: 207
Originally Posted by Cw novice View Post
Quick question as I can't find the answer on Google or FT.

When connecting from a domestic AA flight to a BA TATL at JFK will my bags be through checked if I am on one pnr. I am flying from ORD to INV. (Long story short the extra 40tp will be useful)

I have sussed out the airtrain and will have enough time but was worried I would have to wait at baggage reclaim in T8 before making my way to T7.
Just be aware although bags are checked through they have to exit the US at JFK and TSA seem to need some time between flights for the bags to make it. I had a delayed arrival from MCO to JFK and about 50 minutes to make the connection. I made it but my bag appeared a day later thanks to the TSA. The same happened with a connection from SFO through Newark. I am told TSA require at least 60 minutes to clear the bags to leave the USA.
philthegreek is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 8:07 am
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 46,687
Originally Posted by philthegreek View Post
Just be aware although bags are checked through they have to exit the US at JFK and TSA seem to need some time between flights for the bags to make it. I had a delayed arrival from MCO to JFK and about 50 minutes to make the connection. I made it but my bag appeared a day later thanks to the TSA. The same happened with a connection from SFO through Newark. I am told TSA require at least 60 minutes to clear the bags to leave the USA.
Whoever told you this fabricated it (a polite term). In this case, OP's bags will be screened at ORD and that is it. The US does not "clear" bags for departure from the US and even if it did, TSA has no involvement in that.

It is always possible that your specific bag was pulled for a reinspection as a random or intentional matter. But, that is unlikely and if it did occur, the carrier would be forbidden from telling you.
Often1 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 8:11 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, ARN, HEL, ..... or MAN
Programs: BA GFL / GGL, Mucci Silver, HH Diamond, Radisson Gold, Hertz Gold 5*
Posts: 4,471
Originally Posted by Fraser View Post
The eternal JFK question....to Fast Track or not to Fast Track...last week it was almost 40mins to the front of the line. I almost struggle to believe the non-Fast Track line is as slow...

One of the big benefits of F is the escort to the front of the line.
Yes I was amazed by the length of the Fast Track queue when I was there last week. I did get the escort to the front but then felt guilty pushing in front of someone who has clearly already been in the queue for quite some time.
ThatT1Feeling is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 9:41 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,291
Originally Posted by ThatT1Feeling View Post
Yes I was amazed by the length of the Fast Track queue when I was there last week. I did get the escort to the front but then felt guilty pushing in front of someone who has clearly already been in the queue for quite some time.
The only time I felt guilt when flying ex-JFK in F was when the BA agent was struggling to get through and was then shouting "excuse me, VIP" several times in order to get me to the boarding pass checker.

Originally Posted by LupineChemist View Post
But the real trick is to just fly AA from T8, get TSA Precheck, and use the far, far superior Flagship Lounge.
^ I do love the Flagship Check-In and lounge set up at T8. I've used the Flagship Lounge a large number of times this year and one of the bartenders recognizes my wife and I now. Even better service than you'd expect.
Fraser is offline  
Old Mar 20, 18, 11:20 am
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 264
It's a Saturday and we have 3 hours so hopefully it won't be too horrendous. I did have the option of AA from T7 but I was worried about the connection at LHR as the INV Sunday flight was 90 minutes earlier.
Cw novice is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: