Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page > 3rd party TA - No seats - PLENTY of seats!!

3rd party TA - No seats - PLENTY of seats!!

Reply

Old Feb 13, 18, 12:00 pm
  #1
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 213
3rd party TA - No seats - PLENTY of seats!!

Called up BA today to see about the cost of an upgrade to my flights next month but because they were booked via a third party TA I had to call them instead. Spoke with someone from Opodo who claimed the entire flight was full and no possibility of upgrading. Checked with the good folks here and I see there are loads of seats in both WT+ and J. And a further dummy purchase on BA.com revealed no shortage of seats at all. What the hell?

Also, is it a new policy by BA to ask for your passport number as part of their security check before they will deal with you over the phone? Who the heck carries their passport with them when not traveling?
simon1234567 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:05 pm
  #2
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: T' North West
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 493
Originally Posted by simon1234567 View Post
Called up BA today to see about the cost of an upgrade to my flights next month but because they were booked via a third party TA I had to call them instead. Spoke with someone from Opodo who claimed the entire flight was full and no possibility of upgrading. Checked with the good folks here and I see there are loads of seats in both WT+ and J. And a further dummy purchase on BA.com revealed no shortage of seats at all. What the hell?

Also, is it a new policy by BA to ask for your passport number as part of their security check before they will deal with you over the phone? Who the heck carries their passport with them when not traveling?
They want the passport details for bookings made by a 3rd party, Opodo in this case. Iíve had the same problem with an AA ticket on BA metal. Obviously no-one carries their passports around with them on a daily basis so calls had to be made at home in the evening. One workaround Iíve found is to give your BAEC account number first (if you have one). Didnít ask for the passport when doing that.
Lucanesque likes this.
happeemonkee is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:11 pm
  #3
Moderator, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 31,457
Is there someone on FT who doesn't know all their passports' numbers off my heart!?!? My goodness, how do you fill in all those immigration entry forms????? As for Opodo, that sounds a bit strange, unless they are not in the market for upselling the change. The reason why it may apply is if it was a Consolidator ticket, but I don't think Opodo does those now for BA.

[Always a good idea to stick a photo of your passport photo on to Google Drive or elsewhere in the Cloud, encrypted if preferred, just in case something happens. Like being bussed on a Domestic flight to the UK Border......]
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:31 pm
  #4
Moderator, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 31,457
Originally Posted by happeemonkee View Post
One workaround Iíve found is to give your BAEC account number first (if you have one). Didnít ask for the passport when doing that.
That's not a workaround that can be relied upon: all third party reservations will now need the passport number now even if you are BAEC: the agent either forgot or didn't spot the reservation owner.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:39 pm
  #5
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Basel
Posts: 131
I put my passport number (and executive club number) as "phone numbers" in my phone's contacts.
TheOldMan likes this.
adrianlondon is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:39 pm
  #6
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC GGL, HH DIAMOND, AVIS Presidents Club, Karahi Express
Posts: 479
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Is there someone on FT who doesn't know all their passports' numbers off my heart!?!? My goodness, how do you fill in all those immigration entry forms????? As for Opodo, that sounds a bit strange, unless they are not in the market for upselling the change. The reason why it may apply is if it was a Consolidator ticket, but I don't think Opodo does those now for BA.

[Always a good idea to stick a photo of your passport photo on to Google Drive or elsewhere in the Cloud, encrypted if preferred, just in case something happens. Like being bussed on a Domestic flight to the UK Border......]
I donít know all the passport numbers, expiry dates etc for my multiple passports 😔. I do have photos of them on my phone.

And sometimes in forget which Passport to use at border controls ... with stamped Visas itís easy, but with Electronic Visas itís not so easy.
deboyzoned is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:40 pm
  #7
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,267
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
[Always a good idea to stick a photo of your passport photo on to Google Drive or elsewhere in the Cloud, encrypted if preferred, just in case something happens. Like being bussed on a Domestic flight to the UK Border......]
Or just keep a photo of it on your phone, just in case something happens. Like no internet access.
SteveF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 12:48 pm
  #8
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 213
I keep scans of my passports on my laptop in a secured file but didn't have it with me when I rang and never expected to be asked.

Still don't understand the Opodo thing though. You would think they would be eager to make a few extra bucks.
simon1234567 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 2:34 pm
  #9
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: VPS
Programs: IHG Spire
Posts: 2,957
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Is there someone on FT who doesn't know all their passports' numbers off my heart!?!? My goodness, how do you fill in all those immigration entry forms?????
In the land where you don't need them for purely domestic flights, and 85% of the commercial air travel is purely domestic, it's probably a fairly low memorization rate among the USA contingent.
beachmouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 2:59 pm
  #10
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 33,267
Simply keep the passport number(s) and related data in your contacts. If you fancy a bit of security, file them under a fictitious name in your contacts.
Often1 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 3:06 pm
  #11
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA (GOLD), VS
Posts: 7,075
Originally Posted by simon1234567 View Post
Called up BA today to see about the cost of an upgrade to my flights next month but because they were booked via a third party TA I had to call them instead. Spoke with someone from Opodo who claimed the entire flight was full and no possibility of upgrading. Checked with the good folks here and I see there are loads of seats in both WT+ and J. And a further dummy purchase on BA.com revealed no shortage of seats at all. What the hell?
Maybe Opodo didn't have any seats from their inventory to sell you - hence it was 'ful' - and I'm guessing any fees they might earn from processing the upgrade via BA aren't worth their while.
UKtravelbear is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 3:07 pm
  #12
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 332
Originally Posted by adrianlondon View Post
I put my passport number (and executive club number) as "phone numbers" in my phone's contacts.
Don't tell anyone, but I do this with credit card numbers.
adrianlondon and simon1234567 like this.
MarkFlies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 3:27 pm
  #13
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: LH SEN; BA Gold
Posts: 6,298
Originally Posted by adrianlondon View Post
I put my passport number (and executive club number) as "phone numbers" in my phone's contacts.
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
Simply keep the passport number(s) and related data in your contacts. If you fancy a bit of security, file them under a fictitious name in your contacts.
So, you lot keep your card pins under Daniel Diners, Marc Master, Alex Express, and Victor Visa!?
WorldLux is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 3:32 pm
  #14
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London
Programs: Many. Too many. I came here to cut them down. I failed.
Posts: 2,245
If this was Emirates married segment / return availability would explain it. But BA doesn't typically run as complex algorithms.

i.e looking at upgrading from within your booking offers vastly different availability vs new booking availability.
Sam Bee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 18, 4:54 pm
  #15
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Alameda, CA, US
Programs: BAEC Gold (GGL/CCR), HHonors Diamond
Posts: 1,207
Originally Posted by WorldLux View Post
So, you lot keep your card pins under Daniel Diners, Marc Master, Alex Express, and Victor Visa!?
Nah, I just use 1Password, which actually has a category for passports, ID cards, etc.
golfmad and Snafu_again like this.
Gshumway is offline  
Reply With Quote
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 9:52 am.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright © 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.