Wiki Posts
Search

LHR-HND options with 2-4-1

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11, 2018, 2:50 am
Original Poster

Programs: IHG Diamond Ambassador
LHR-HND options with 2-4-1

Hi, I'm fairly new to FT but picking up masses of useful information! I have a quick query that I was hoping someone with experience of flying on the LHR-HND route may be able to help with. I'm looking to book flights for Mar/Apr 2019 using a 2-4-1 voucher and I have enough Avios for one leg in J and one leg in F (I'm about 25k Avios short of being able to do both legs in F). I haven't travelled on this route before so what would be the best use of the 2-4-1, outbound (BA007) or inbound (BA008) in F? One consideration is what the lounge options are like at HND?
Old Feb 11, 2018, 2:54 am

Programs: Some
Lounge options at HND are quite good - you'll get the JL F lounge if flying F or the JL J lounge if flying J. I think there's a much bigger difference between the CCR and the GC lounges at LHR than the two JL lounges if that's a consideration. You can also use the CX lounge when in J if your flight is on a day that there's a CX morning departure (pretty much every day, I think), which is close in standard to the JL F lounge, to be honest.

I think the consensus FT recommendation is normally F ex-LHR and J return is the best way of maximising the experience on most routes.
Crofton138 likes this.
Old Feb 11, 2018, 3:11 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Originally Posted by lost_in_translation