Wiki Posts
Search

Nut Allergy Warning and then Serving

Search this Thread

Old Jan 3, 2018, 11:45 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA GGL, GA PLAT, SQ Gold
Nut Allergy Warning and then Serving

Flew Manchester to Heathrow on Tuesday 3rd in CE, on boarding a passenger told the crew about a peanut allergy and made an announcement about not selling and asking passengers to refrain from eating peanuts.

Meal was served and the desert has peanuts on the top , I asked if this was sensible as they had given a peanut warning , i was told it wasn't a problem due to the passenger being down the back of the plane.

I am no expert in either allergies to peanuts , but would it be worth the risk in serving desert ?
Old Jan 3, 2018, 12:04 pm

Programs: HH - Gold, BA - Blue
I believe there is a study out in internet land somewhere that talks about Nut Allergy's and Planes.

From memory, you'd have to be sat next to the individual for them to get any kind of reaction from even a severe nut allergy (according to the this study) anything further away is of no risk.
Down the back likes this.
Old Jan 3, 2018, 12:06 pm
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Originally Posted by walkingtall
Flew Manchester to Heathrow on Tuesday 3rd in CE, on boarding a passenger told the crew about a peanut allergy and made an announcement about not selling and asking passengers to refrain from eating peanuts.

Meal was served and the desert has peanuts on the top , I asked if this was sensible as they had given a peanut warning , i was told it wasn't a problem due to the passenger being down the back of the plane.

I am no expert in either allergies to peanuts , but would it be worth the risk in serving desert ?
I see this amongst other various points on ba.com (under food allergies nearer the bottom) so I presume they take that as professional advice.

https://www.britishairways.com/en-us...-and-pregnancy