Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Why can't I check in online? OLCI and boarding pass difficulties

Why can't I check in online? OLCI and boarding pass difficulties

    Hide Wikipost
Old May 17, 19, 3:31 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: EsherFlyer
Wiki Link
This thread is dedicated to explaining some of the reasons why OLCI (Online Check-in) doesn't work on British Airways' website BA.com and / or its App software. The first post give the main reasons, and subsequent posts give more background. By all means reach out in this thread if you are still unsure. If you are new to the BA Forum - perhaps Google brought you here - have a look in the forum's stickies and Dashboard for more reference material.

Note that there is a HTML typo in the first link of the first thread. Try this instead: https://classic.checkmytrip.com/plne...&SITE=XCMTXXNS
Print Wikipost

Old Jan 17, 20, 9:12 am
  #241  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cambridgeshire
Programs: BA Bronze (how did that happen? Lost track of the others
Posts: 955
I've got the following message when trying to check in my companion. "The US advises that no Travel Authorisation can be found for the passport details provided. Please check you have a valid ESTA or provide your US visa number."

He has a valid passport/ESTA/global entry. Would BA be able to advise what the problem is, or should he apply for another ESTA as a belt and braces approach?

I can check in but haven't done so yet.
ttama is offline  
Old Jan 17, 20, 9:34 am
  #242  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 36,908
have you double checked the passport details in the booking for your companion?
KARFA is offline  
Old Jan 17, 20, 10:03 am
  #243  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cambridgeshire
Programs: BA Bronze (how did that happen? Lost track of the others
Posts: 955
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
have you double checked the passport details in the booking for your companion?

Yes. They're correct. They've been in the BA system for some time, and he'd updated the booking, checked the details and added the specific trip-related API .

We think his ESTA has expired, so he's applied for a new one. It's hard to believe this has happened after 30+ years of successful travel to the USA!!

It's a learning experience. So I suppose the green tick on the BA website means we've entered all the information, but the actual US Government check doesn't take place until 24 hours (or thereabouts) before travel?

I'm glad I started check-in early enough to do something about it.

Assuming the ESTA comes through OK, do you know if we need to do anything else before trying online check in again?

And thank you for your help. As you can imagine, it's been a bit fraught here. And a bit annoying that we're losing our grip


ETA: to answer my own question, once the ESTA came through we are now able to check in

Last edited by ttama; Jan 17, 20 at 10:10 am
ttama is offline  
Old Sep 17, 20, 10:10 am
  #244  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: Aegean Airlines Gold, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Malaysian
Posts: 1,699
My wife and I (UK Passport holders) are unable to check-in for tomorrow's IST flight - any ideas why this could be?
gallagher is offline  
Old Sep 17, 20, 10:16 am
  #245  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK Elite Plus,QR Platinum,BAEC GGL,ITA Executive,Frontier 20k,All Silver,HH Diamond,Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 12,733
Originally Posted by gallagher View Post
My wife and I (UK Passport holders) are unable to check-in for tomorrow's IST flight - any ideas why this could be?
The flight may be overbooked, do you have seat assignments at this time?
According to Expertflyer, the Club Europe cabin is fully booked and Euro Traveller only has 8 available seats.

Otherwise, it's not because of entry requirements or something because of your passport.
ISTFlyer is offline  
Old Sep 17, 20, 10:46 am
  #246  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: Aegean Airlines Gold, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Malaysian
Posts: 1,699
We have exit seats reserved (both BA silver). Booking was made direct with BA. Hopefully I can sort quickly at the airport
gallagher is offline  
Old Sep 18, 20, 1:43 am
  #247  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: Aegean Airlines Gold, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Malaysian
Posts: 1,699
2 things I found out at check-in:

1) you have to have your temperature checked before flying to Turkey
2) nothing is allowed in overhead storage on flights to/from Turkey (wished BA had told me this before I got to the airport. Just got the standard email your flight is busy and we will check-in your had luggage free of charge at the airport) 👹
gallagher is offline  
Old Sep 18, 20, 3:49 am
  #248  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC GGL/GFL
Posts: 44
I'm due to fly to Corfu tomorrow but can't checkin online. They told me that its due to having to see the Greek QR code but the same thing happened to me earlier this week on a flight from Hamburg back to London.

Is the QR code explanation correct or does it look like there is another issue at fault here? I tried deleting and re-entering my passport info on my profile but made no difference.
jazzyjeff is offline  
Old Sep 18, 20, 3:58 am
  #249  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 16,338
Originally Posted by jazzyjeff View Post
I'm due to fly to Corfu tomorrow but can't checkin online. They told me that its due to having to see the Greek QR code but the same thing happened to me earlier this week on a flight from Hamburg back to London.

Is the QR code explanation correct or does it look like there is another issue at fault here? I tried deleting and re-entering my passport info on my profile but made no difference.
hi.

I would think that it is the qr code issue as it is general ba policy to disable olci for Greek destinations currently and there have been a number of posts here recently.

Not sure why olci did not work for ham lhr though

Regards
tbs
KARFA and jazzyjeff like this.
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Old Sep 18, 20, 5:11 am
  #250  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 55,316
Greece QR codes and OLCI

Just to signpost the following thread which details why passenger to Greece cannot check-in online at the moment, due to the need to check documentation.

Greece - individual or family PLF for BA?
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Old Sep 18, 20, 11:56 am
  #251  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Programs: BA Executive Club and OnBusiness
Posts: 614
Originally Posted by jazzyjeff View Post
I'm due to fly to Corfu tomorrow but can't checkin online. They told me that its due to having to see the Greek QR code but the same thing happened to me earlier this week on a flight from Hamburg back to London.

Is the QR code explanation correct or does it look like there is another issue at fault here? I tried deleting and re-entering my passport info on my profile but made no difference.
I'm in the same position (Corfu tomorrow) - we can't check in online either so it's not just you. Hopefully the QR code arrives tonight.....
jazzyjeff likes this.
Ned1968 is offline  
Old Sep 19, 20, 12:42 am
  #252  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: Aegean Airlines Gold, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Malaysian
Posts: 1,699
Originally Posted by gallagher View Post
2 things I found out at check-in:

1) you have to have your temperature checked before flying to Turkey
2) nothing is allowed in overhead storage on flights to/from Turkey (wished BA had told me this before I got to the airport. Just got the standard email your flight is busy and we will check-in your had luggage free of charge at the airport) 👹
BAs flight to Dalaman today not accepting wheeled bags as hand luggage - must be checked in the hold.
gallagher is offline  
Old Sep 23, 20, 1:28 am
  #253  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: Aegean Airlines Gold, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Malaysian
Posts: 1,699
Originally Posted by gallagher View Post
2 things I found out at check-in:

1) you have to have your temperature checked before flying to Turkey
2) nothing is allowed in overhead storage on flights to/from Turkey (wished BA had told me this before I got to the airport. Just got the standard email your flight is busy and we will check-in your had luggage free of charge at the airport) 👹
anyone know if Im allowed wheeled hand-luggage in the cabin on BA flights from Turkey to the UK?
on the outbound last week all wheeled hand luggage had to be checked

Last edited by gallagher; Sep 23, 20 at 2:16 am
gallagher is offline  
Old Sep 23, 20, 2:04 am
  #254  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: Aegean Airlines Gold, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Malaysian
Posts: 1,699
Im also having problems today loading seat map for tomorrows IST-LHR flight. I cant change seat on the App nor BA.com
Also,
Its on a 32N plane but tells me my C seat is a middle seat?
gallagher is offline  
Old Sep 23, 20, 2:29 am
  #255  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 55,316
Originally Posted by gallagher View Post
Im also having problems today loading seat map for tomorrows IST-LHR flight. I cant change seat on the App nor BA.com
Also,
Its on a 32N plane but tells me my C seat is a middle seat?
C seat is an aisle seat. There is a longstanding glitch which shows that incorrectly in MMB. If you can't OLCI then seat assigment stops at T-25, and there isn't much you can do about that. Expertflyer and similar tools will show the seat arrangment, which is essentially full in ET, and some empty rows between row 8 and the last CE row, row 12.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread