Atlanta from 789 to 777 change?

Old Nov 27, 2017, 7:43 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 870
Atlanta from 789 to 777 change?

I have just logged into my booking to see that my flight this Saturday (02nd Dec) and my return on the 6th have been changed from the 789 to a 777. Does anyone have any ideas why this is as I believed this route had changed just recently to a 789 service? I know these things happen but I am a little sad as I booked F to fly in the new cabin.

Is this likely to change back or has something happened to the route going forward?
BHDATC is offline  
Old Nov 27, 2017, 8:15 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 38,644
The filed timetable in the GDS continues to say 789 throughout the season . This tends to lag the availability information, so it may indicate that it's been a very recent change.

Looking at availability over the next few weeks, it looks like the sub from 789 to 777 is for 1 to 15 December inclusive. On 16 December the flight goes back to a 789 and is like that through to at least Christmas Eve.

So my guess would be that it's something like bringing in a 777 to cover for maintenance.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Nov 27, 2017, 8:27 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 870
Ah well. From a 789 to a 12F 777 with 19th century IFE in one fell swoop. Just my luck.

Thank you for the update.
BHDATC is offline  
Old Nov 27, 2017, 2:28 pm
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 325
Originally Posted by BHDATC
Ah well. From a 789 to a 12F 777 with 19th century IFE in one fell swoop. Just my luck.

Thank you for the update.
Some of the 787s have inherent engine defects requiring 6-week repairs at RR, so are on restricted itineraries. This has required a fair bit of reshuffling of aircraft around the network.
LordBuckethead is offline  
Old Nov 27, 2017, 2:39 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, Eurostar Carte Blanche
Posts: 719
Just spotted my itinerary changing too. Annoyed by the lack of 787, but one possible upside: 8F 42J 39W 127Y to 12F 48J 32W 127Y... as a booked WTP traveller, I see the cabin now "sold out" on my flights. Given a potential surplus of up to 7 seats (and 6 seats coming available in Club) perhaps we'll see some upgrades?
World Traveller Fuss is offline  
Old Nov 28, 2017, 12:45 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Island. UK
Programs: BAEC Silver/Hilton Diamond/IHG Spire
Posts: 351
My 787-9 flight was cancelled yesterday for flying on Thursday. Sad not to fly it but atleast I am on an A380 to SFO instead😀
baileysserpant is offline  
Old Nov 28, 2017, 2:35 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Programs: OWEmerald; STARGold; BonvoyPlat; IHGPlat/Amb; HiltonGold; A|ClubPat; AirMilesPlat
Posts: 38,187
My LHR-YYZ flight last Wednesday was supposed to be a 788 but when I got my boarding pass at CAI I noticed a major seat change, from 2A to 14A clearly indicating I would not be on a 788 and indeed we boarded a 777. Our load was light so the aircraft change could not have been for that reason (though suppose the return load could have justified a larger plane). As noted above, most likely due to the need to revise the engine maintenance schedules on the 787 fleet. BTW they didn't sell F and that cabin was left empty.
Shareholder is offline  
Old Nov 28, 2017, 3:02 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 870
Safety first I guess - just it almost feels like a downgrade going from the 789 to a 12F 777 with Rockwell Collins AVOD.
BHDATC is offline  
Old Nov 28, 2017, 3:38 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by LordBuckethead
Some of the 787s have inherent engine defects requiring 6-week repairs at RR, so are on restricted itineraries. This has required a fair bit of reshuffling of aircraft around the network.
Is this the same thing that's impacting Virgin's fleet?
dougzz is offline  
Old Nov 28, 2017, 3:49 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London, Babylon-on-Thames
Programs: BAEC Blue (back to Earth)
Posts: 1,535
G-ZBKA is sitting outside the Maintenance Base with no engines, in sight of two similar Virgin glider-B787s.
skipness1E is offline  
Old Nov 28, 2017, 6:41 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ZRH
Programs: A3*G, BA silver, HH Gold
Posts: 44
Originally Posted by baileysserpant
My 787-9 flight was cancelled yesterday for flying on Thursday. Sad not to fly it but atleast I am on an A380 to SFO instead😀
To SJC as well? Me too, I will be in 1A.
Yarrick is offline  
Old Nov 29, 2017, 4:25 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Island. UK
Programs: BAEC Silver/Hilton Diamond/IHG Spire
Posts: 351
Originally Posted by Yarrick
To SJC as well? Me too, I will be in 1A.
Yup. I am in 1K. Waiting to submit the EU261 claim upon my return home. Its cost me a hotel change so I may as well try and get something back. see you on the flight.
baileysserpant is offline  
Old Nov 30, 2017, 2:10 pm
  #13  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 325
Originally Posted by dougzz
Is this the same thing that's impacting Virgin's fleet?
Highly likely. From what I heard it's a complete de-build of all RR engines right to the core, which presumably must take weeks.
LordBuckethead is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.