Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

BA Gold line refuse to offload me for "security reasons"?

BA Gold line refuse to offload me for "security reasons"?

Old Sep 11, 17, 1:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 620
Unhappy BA Gold line refuse to offload me for "security reasons"?

Odd interaction with the gold line this evening.

I have a BA flight tomorrow. Now normally I don't retrieve my boarding pass at OLCI, however for some reason I did. And so, sod's law, after doing so I received an Expertflyer notification that a better seat had opened up.

In the past, I have phoned BA, they have offloaded me, so that I can OLCI again and choose a different seat.

Not possible, sir. "Policy". "Security reasons".

Patently, a BA phone agents job will be offloading passengers from flights day-in-day-out, from flexible tickets, seat changes, etc.

Anyone able to explain the possible "security" concern? Or just yet another asinine anti-customer BA policy?
ba_cityflyer is offline  
Old Sep 11, 17, 1:40 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold; Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 1,767
I can't think of anything off the top of my head other than the agent was being a bit of a jobsworth!
Geordie405 is offline  
Old Sep 11, 17, 1:42 pm
  #3  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N/A
Programs: Go Fish
Posts: 4,472
I can't think of anything, HUACA?
aks120 likes this.
nufnuf77 is offline  
Old Sep 11, 17, 3:36 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,556
Originally Posted by ba_cityflyer View Post
Odd interaction with the gold line this evening.

I have a BA flight tomorrow. Now normally I don't retrieve my boarding pass at OLCI, however for some reason I did. And so, sod's law, after doing so I received an Expertflyer notification that a better seat had opened up.

In the past, I have phoned BA, they have offloaded me, so that I can OLCI again and choose a different seat.

Not possible, sir. "Policy". "Security reasons".

Patently, a BA phone agents job will be offloading passengers from flights day-in-day-out, from flexible tickets, seat changes, etc.

Anyone able to explain the possible "security" concern? Or just yet another asinine anti-customer BA policy?
Im assuming you passed data protection so you could discuss the booking?? Also you dont need to be offloaded to do this. Managers in the contact centres have access to be able to move seats at check in provides they arent already taken.
PETER01 and Stez like this.
Anonba is offline  
Old Sep 11, 17, 5:24 pm
  #5  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Silver, Mucci
Posts: 8,613
Originally Posted by Anonba View Post
Im assuming you passed data protection so you could discuss the booking?? Also you dont need to be offloaded to do this. Managers in the contact centres have access to be able to move seats at check in provides they arent already taken.
That's a very useful post ^
gingeola likes this.
PETER01 is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 4:49 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 620
Originally Posted by Anonba View Post
Im assuming you passed data protection so you could discuss the booking?? Also you dont need to be offloaded to do this. Managers in the contact centres have access to be able to move seats at check in provides they arent already taken.
I had passed data protection at the start of the call, yes.

And yes, I was able to have my seat changed without being offloaded, but only after a lengthy hold. Whereas being offloaded would take them one/two(?) mouse clicks.
ba_cityflyer is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 4:59 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: GGL, BA lifetime Gold, Many Hotel Sparkles
Posts: 875
for this I sometimes dial the web-support number.
BugAlugs is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 5:30 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,556
Originally Posted by ba_cityflyer View Post
I had passed data protection at the start of the call, yes.

And yes, I was able to have my seat changed without being offloaded, but only after a lengthy hold. Whereas being offloaded would take them one/two(?) mouse clicks.
We arent supposed to offload for moving seats as it can cause problems. It could mean that at the least arent able to check back in online. So if the person you spoke to moves the seat by talking to a manager they followed the correct process. Yes while it can take longer its better to wait and do it this way.
Anonba is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 6:22 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: BA Gold, and others
Posts: 360
Wait, can't you change seats after you OLCI after getting the boarding pass? I thought this was possible "View/Change Seat in OLCI" or something?
evacboy is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 6:30 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Programs: Mucci, BA Gold, HHonours Diamond, BA AMEX PremPlus
Posts: 5,130
Originally Posted by evacboy View Post
Wait, can't you change seats after you OLCI after getting the boarding pass? I thought this was possible "View/Change Seat in OLCI" or something?
Only possible before you have created ANY kind of BP - be it via the app, e-mailed or printed. Once you've done that, then you're locked in.
Teece is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 6:31 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 36,477
Originally Posted by evacboy View Post
Wait, can't you change seats after you OLCI after getting the boarding pass? I thought this was possible "View/Change Seat in OLCI" or something?
No. You can change seats via OLCI as long as you have not printed or downloaded your boarding pass. Once you have done that, you can't change via OLCI any more.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 7:16 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,229
This is one of the frustrating parts of BA IT. Plenty of other carriers allow you to change seats multiple times whilst OLCI is still open, even if you have printed/downloaded multiple BPs. Particularly handy on services where carriers use versions of TS and that you hold low/no status, where seat availability changes almost hourly.
rossmacd is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 7:20 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 6,124
A friend's firm has changed their travel to IAH to United (Y) after too many staff complained about BA. They can apparently change seats on the app right up to the time they board. This seems to be a great facility if correct
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 7:29 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: BA Gold, and others
Posts: 360
Sorry, yes, you're correct. The US carriers generally do this really well. Change from your phone/kiosk as many times as you want before you board.
evacboy is offline  
Old Sep 12, 17, 7:33 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 7,504
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
A friend's firm has changed their travel to IAH to United (Y) after too many staff complained about BA. They can apparently change seats on the app right up to the time they board. This seems to be a great facility if correct
Don't most other airlines offer this? I'm hardly an expert on lots of others, but on my occasional forays into other planes, I see this as standard.
windowontheAside is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: