Bangkok 777 refurb

Old Aug 2, 17, 6:40 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Bangkok 777 refurb

Hi - Flying to Bangkok during Sept with BA (first time in a long time - usually Qatar Business). Can anyone tell me if this 200 series aircraft has had the Premium Cabin upgrade? To be honest I've lost touch with Ba and have no idea over the years how many cabin upgrades there has been. I notice on the BA website there is an ongoing refurb for Premium but not focused immediately on the 777-200.


I was in Dubai last week (BA Premium) and it was certainly different to the Premium I flew 10 years or so ago. I have no idea if that flight had the upgraded premium. All I can say is there was only one usb port below the screen - new seems to have two.


Many thanks.
Bil1965 is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 6:41 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,574
Afraid not. It'll be an old aircraft with old cabins and old IFE - sorry!

Welcome to Flyertalk by the way, Bil1965.
Ldnn1 is online now  
Old Aug 2, 17, 6:59 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,861
Originally Posted by Bil1965 View Post
Hi - Flying to Bangkok during Sept with BA (first time in a long time - usually Qatar Business). ..
You're going to notice a small difference !!

Oh, and welcome Bil1965
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:26 am
  #4  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, Mucci
Posts: 8,523
Welcome to Flyertalk and the BA Board, Bil1965

I see your question has been answered however the BA Forum Dashboard is well worth a look for all BA and Oneworld related matters, it's very comprehensive!

Other useful sites are thebasource.com and headforpoints.com too
PETER01 is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:40 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold; FB Silver; SPG; IHG Gold
Posts: 2,000
I think the OP is going to be in for an unpleasant surprise. The BKK fleet is poor and the flight timing awful. I now fly via HK.
South London Bon Viveur is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 7:50 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Many thanks guys for the quick replies. As I feared. To make matters worse I am just trying to use up some miles on this trip. As I mentioned, I usually fly via Doha.
I'll make sure I make full use of lounge in T5 first to dull the senses!!


Also note advice re other dashboard.
Bil1965 is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:19 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 1,134
Originally Posted by Bil1965 View Post
Many thanks guys for the quick replies. As I feared. To make matters worse I am just trying to use up some miles on this trip. As I mentioned, I usually fly via Doha.
I'll make sure I make full use of lounge in T5 first to dull the senses!!


Also note advice re other dashboard.
I have taken this flight in CW fairly regularly. I'd just say it is adequate in the way QR is excellent.

The food is generally decent enough anyway.
smokie36 is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:20 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bangkok / London
Programs: BA Gold, AmEx Platinum, AVIS Presidents Club
Posts: 978
Originally Posted by Southlondonbonviveur View Post
I think the OP is going to be in for an unpleasant surprise. The BKK fleet is poor and the flight timing awful. I now fly via HK.
I just amended my next BKK-LHR to go via Hong Kong for this reason. The BKK departure time means I would have to either leave work early on Friday or fly the next day but if I go via HK I can connect onto the A380 service just before midnight and be home a clear 12 hours before the Bangkok flight arrives the next day.

Also, not sure if it matters so much in Club but presumably the A380 CW is either the same as or better than the 777-200 CW used on the Bangkok route?
HarryKUK is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:31 am
  #9  
Moderator, Emirates
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Where My Heart Is
Programs: BAEC Silver, EK Blue
Posts: 2,848
Probably of no help to the OP but my flight the other day on a 777-200 (G-VIIL) aircraft was the first in about 5 years. I was actually pleasantly surprised in the comfort of the seat (padding & space) which is the main factor for me.

S
Saltire74 is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:37 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,861
Agree with Saltire74 for a day flight the seat is comfy and adequate and you should get some sleep too. Other service differences will of course be noticeable
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 8:44 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 790
Originally Posted by Bil1965 View Post
Many thanks guys for the quick replies. As I feared. To make matters worse I am just trying to use up some miles on this trip. As I mentioned, I usually fly via Doha.
I'll make sure I make full use of lounge in T5 first to dull the senses!!


Also note advice re other dashboard.
I fly LHR-BKK quite a lot. In economy BA are not too bad, OK, the plane is old but at least it is 3-3-3 and I have had some excellent crews on this route. I prefer TG for economy but would at least consider BA.

If you are used to flying the fantastic QR J product and are going to be flying CW then I am afraid that you are in for quite a shock.

Last edited by capin; Aug 2, 17 at 9:20 am Reason: correcting typos
capin is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 9:16 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold; FB Silver; SPG; IHG Gold
Posts: 2,000
Originally Posted by HarryKUK View Post
I just amended my next BKK-LHR to go via Hong Kong for this reason. The BKK departure time means I would have to either leave work early on Friday or fly the next day but if I go via HK I can connect onto the A380 service just before midnight and be home a clear 12 hours before the Bangkok flight arrives the next day.

Also, not sure if it matters so much in Club but presumably the A380 CW is either the same as or better than the 777-200 CW used on the Bangkok route?
I'd say it's better because it is a newer aircraft and a better IFE system. That said, one problem that I have with the 380 is that J is very big, and I get the impression the crew can be a bit rushed- you certainly don't get much "personalised" service, although as with all things BA, there is inconsistency, with some crews much better than others. For me, not that much of a problem- both HKG sectors are night flights where I want to sleep- but it might be a bit disappointing if you are viewing this as a treat. However it doesn't sound as though you are.
South London Bon Viveur is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 10:01 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bangkok / London
Programs: BA Gold, AmEx Platinum, AVIS Presidents Club
Posts: 978
Originally Posted by Southlondonbonviveur View Post
I'd say it's better because it is a newer aircraft and a better IFE system. That said, one problem that I have with the 380 is that J is very big, and I get the impression the crew can be a bit rushed- you certainly don't get much "personalised" service, although as with all things BA, there is inconsistency, with some crews much better than others. For me, not that much of a problem- both HKG sectors are night flights where I want to sleep- but it might be a bit disappointing if you are viewing this as a treat. However it doesn't sound as though you are.
On this occasion, no, very much not a treat. Back to London for just two days then back to Bangkok so need to maximise sleep. Flying direct to BKK on the Monday as the flight times in that direction suit my plans better than flying via HKG.
HarryKUK is offline  
Old Aug 2, 17, 10:52 am
  #14  
formerly southsidesilver
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego,CA
Programs: BA Gold, UA Silver, HH Diamond
Posts: 960
You are going to have an OK flight. I have done it twice in economy in the last year. Don't get me wrong its not QR and it's the old aircraft.

The one slight benefit is that the older seats are pretty comfortable, but the IFE is so fuzzy you can hardly see it.
When I Travel The World is offline  
Old Aug 3, 17, 12:31 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wedged somewhere between BTS and VIE ✈
Programs: Star Alliance Gold (A3 Gold)
Posts: 5,613
This thread has made me feel so much better after I day of wondering if I did the right thing.

My Qatar flights BKK-DOH-AUH in First were cancelled and when I called BA this morning they offered me BKK-LHR(overnight)-VIE in Business (amazing they agreed to VIE!). I had a second Qatar booking from AUH-DOH-VIE that I could have cancelled to get my 12,500 Avios back on that booking. Eventually I was rebooked with the 2 bookings connecting at KWI instead of AUH.

Although I would have got Avios back, I couldn't quite bear the thought of replacing QR First with BA Business....so I'm so glad I didn't!
headingwest is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread