Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums >
Reload this Page >

Miles&Points

Airlines and Mileage Programs

British Airways | Executive Club

BA Lounge Database | United Kingdom

BA Lounge Database | United Kingdom

Old Aug 15, 19, 10:47 am
  #106  
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 43
Is there anyone who travels through Newcastle on the 6.05am flight can clarify if the terraces lounge will be closed. This thread and the one world lounge guide states it opens at 6am which would mean it would be closed for this flight.
StuMcGrew is offline  
Old Aug 15, 19, 10:49 am
  #107  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 56,663
Welcome to Flyertalk and welcome to the BA forum StuMcGrew, and it's even better to get North Eastern flyers here, not that I am biased.

Yes the lounge will be open from just after 04:00 hrs. The early flight isn't year round but the lounge at NCL is open a couple of hours before the first flight whenever it would be.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Aug 15, 19, 12:31 pm
  #108  
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 43
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Welcome to Flyertalk and welcome to the BA forum StuMcGrew, and it's even better to get North Eastern flyers here, not that I am biased.

Yes the lounge will be open from just after 04:00 hrs. The early flight isn't year round but the lounge at NCL is open a couple of hours before the first flight whenever it would be.
Thanks, I was slightly concerned. I normally fly mid afternoon and make a night of connecting in Heathrow so havent had this issue before but thats not possible on my next trip. Looking forward to my first time in the CCR after booking a First redemption to EWR
StuMcGrew is offline  
Old Sep 6, 19, 4:53 am
  #109  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Is there supposed to be BA Lounge WiFi in NCL? I couldn’t find it yesterday on my phone or iPad and I didn’t want to sign up for the free airport WiFi.
lemonpie is offline  
Old Sep 6, 19, 4:58 am
  #110  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 56,663
Originally Posted by lemonpie View Post
Is there supposed to be BA Lounge WiFi in NCL? I couldn’t find it yesterday on my phone or iPad and I didn’t want to sign up for the free airport WiFi.
I couldn't find it yesterday either, though I didn't enquire at the desk which I (and you!) should have done. It's not a problem using the airport's service, it also carries BA's IP traffic anyway, and it's better than it used to be. After sign up the cookies (if you allow them) will allow HAL style immediate access on future visits - though unfortunately not HAL or LBA speed.

Usually BA's internet works fine in NCL, but not suitable for Netflix / iPlayer.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Sep 6, 19, 5:23 am
  #111  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Thanks. It was my first time in that lounge so I wasn’t sure if they were supposed to have it. Good to know the airport WiFi is OK.
lemonpie is offline  
Old Oct 30, 19, 9:47 pm
  #112  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SAV,JAX
Programs: AA-LT Gold 1.2MM ,DL, Marriott LT TITANIUM; HH Gold, AMEX PLT
Posts: 478
A bit confused

I will be arriving in Terminal 5 at 8:20 am traveling in First. However my connecting flight is from Terminal 3 at 3:20 pm. Since there is a considerable time between flights would i be able to stay in Terminal 5 in the Concorde Room for a good bit of the time before transferring to Terminal 3 for my ongoing flight? Or do I have to go to Terminal 3 immediately?
Thanks for your help.
tbrein is offline  
Old Oct 31, 19, 1:38 am
  #113  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 37,865
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
I will be arriving in Terminal 5 at 8:20 am traveling in First. However my connecting flight is from Terminal 3 at 3:20 pm. Since there is a considerable time between flights would i be able to stay in Terminal 5 in the Concorde Room for a good bit of the time before transferring to Terminal 3 for my ongoing flight? Or do I have to go to Terminal 3 immediately?
Thanks for your help.
You cant go in the airside departures area in T5 without a bp for a flight departing T5. So your options when you arrive are to take the airside bus to T3 and use any of the F lounges there. Or if you can go through immigration go landside in T5 and use the BA arrivals lounge, then take the tube/HEX to T3 and go through security where you can use the T3 lounges.
KARFA is online now  
Old Oct 31, 19, 1:39 am
  #114  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: Mucci, BAEC GGL/CCR, Hilton Diamond, IHG Diamond Ambassador, Stena Gold
Posts: 881
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
I will be arriving in Terminal 5 at 8:20 am traveling in First. However my connecting flight is from Terminal 3 at 3:20 pm. Since there is a considerable time between flights would i be able to stay in Terminal 5 in the Concorde Room for a good bit of the time before transferring to Terminal 3 for my ongoing flight? Or do I have to go to Terminal 3 immediately?
Thanks for your help.
You will not be allowed airside in T5, so cannot use the CCR.

You would however, have access to any of the lounges in T3. I would commend the Cathay F lounge to you, but others are available
Gastrocnemius is offline  
Old Oct 31, 19, 3:36 am
  #115  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 38,636
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
I will be arriving in Terminal 5 at 8:20 am traveling in First.
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
Or if you can go through immigration go landside in T5 and use the BA arrivals lounge ...
In the Arrivals Lounge, as a passenger who's arrived in First you would be entitled to use the Concorde Breakfast Room, as well as all of the other facilities in the lounge. There's table service in that room, rather than having to serve yourself from the buffet, and you wouldn't be sharing a long table with others.

The HEX transfer is free; the Tube transfer is free if you have an Oyster or contactless card.

The dedicated lounge lizard would then crawl between all of the T3 lounges for a number of further meals of different kinds: Best T3 OneWorld Lounge

Of course, there will be others who would suggest that with 7 hours between flights, there's time to escape from the airport altogether if you wish, perhaps for a quick trip to Windsor.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Oct 31, 19, 7:56 am
  #116  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SAV,JAX
Programs: AA-LT Gold 1.2MM ,DL, Marriott LT TITANIUM; HH Gold, AMEX PLT
Posts: 478
Originally Posted by Globaliser View Post
In the Arrivals Lounge, as a passenger who's arrived in First you would be entitled to use the Concorde Breakfast Room, as well as all of the other facilities in the lounge. There's table service in that room, rather than having to serve yourself from the buffet, and you wouldn't be sharing a long table with others.

The HEX transfer is free; the Tube transfer is free if you have an Oyster or contactless card.

The dedicated lounge lizard would then crawl between all of the T3 lounges for a number of further meals of different kinds: Best T3 OneWorld Lounge

Of course, there will be others who would suggest that with 7 hours between flights, there's time to escape from the airport altogether if you wish, perhaps for a quick trip to Windsor.
Thanks for your help. Just dont understand why I would not be permitted to enter T5. I know rules are rules.
tbrein is offline  
Old Oct 31, 19, 9:53 am
  #117  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 38,636
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
Just don’t understand why I would not be permitted to enter T5.
Because you are not departing from T5, and in general the only people allowed in the airside departures stream at T5 are those who are departing from T5.

Conceptually, if you think of each terminal as a separate airport, with some ground transfer arrangements between them, you will get the picture. Fewer things go wrong if people wait for their flights in the correct terminal.
Globaliser is offline  
Old Feb 7, 20, 9:03 am
  #118  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: LHR
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 466
Are there any lounges available at LHR T2 for a BA Silver flying EI in Y ?? Many thnks.
THEOBCMAN is offline  
Old Feb 7, 20, 4:10 pm
  #119  
Ambassador, British Airways; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 37,865
Originally Posted by THEOBCMAN View Post
Are there any lounges available at LHR T2 for a BA Silver flying EI in Y ?? Many thnks.
You can use the EI lounge.
THEOBCMAN likes this.
KARFA is online now  
Old Mar 5, 20, 10:50 pm
  #120  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Programs: CX ows, DL E+
Posts: 188
If Sapphire arriving on inbound flight at T3, and connecting flight at T5, is it possible to access T3 lounges, before getting on the bus transferring to T5, given I have a long layover?

I'm sure it's been asked before, I can't seem to find it when I want to know.
Sozee is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread