BA Handling of laptop/tablet ban

Old Dec 28, 17, 12:30 pm
  #166  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: WC1
Programs: BAEC Gold, SK *G, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 618
What's the latest on how this works at IST? I'm flying on RJ from AMM to IST and then connecting onto BA's LHR service. Aside from my regular briefcase, I don't have a separate bag for my laptop. Would I just gate check it at IST? What do they do if you don't have a separate bag for it?
GaryK84 is offline  
Old Dec 28, 17, 3:24 pm
  #167  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Brexile in ADB
Programs: BA, TK, HHonours, Le Club, Best Western Rewards
Posts: 7,067
Originally Posted by GaryK84 View Post
What's the latest on how this works at IST? I'm flying on RJ from AMM to IST and then connecting onto BA's LHR service. Aside from my regular briefcase, I don't have a separate bag for my laptop. Would I just gate check it at IST? What do they do if you don't have a separate bag for it?
As of last week still the same I am afraid.

Yes you can gate check a carry on, but they don't encourage this, so I would double check at the desk to be on the safe side.

If if you don't have a separate bag I would suppose they will offer the choice of leaving it. They don't have a bag for you to put it in like TK did.
Worcester is offline  
Old Dec 29, 17, 3:01 am
  #168  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: WC1
Programs: BAEC Gold, SK *G, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 618
Originally Posted by Worcester View Post
Yes you can gate check a carry on, but they don't encourage this, so I would double check at the desk to be on the safe side.
That's good to know - thanks. I think I'll put my laptop in my checked luggage at AMM and cross my fingers that the bag is transferred correctly at IST and turns up at LHR!
GaryK84 is offline  
Old Dec 29, 17, 8:59 am
  #169  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Riyadh, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Programs: BA Gold. Iberia Plus Blue, Miles and More Blue, Gulf Blue, Tesco Clubcard, Elite PAL Mabuhay
Posts: 421
Originally Posted by mouch View Post
Interestingly, Lebanon's national carrier now allows laptops and larger electronics into the cabin:


https://www.mea.com.lb/english/about...es/uk-ban-lift

Yet BA still maintains its ban, and the Government website still states that the ban is in place.

I flew from Beirut to London on the 16th of November with BA, and each and every carry-on bag was searched at the gate. Surely it would be less onerous for BA to follow suit and do random checks?
It's like RJ at AMM. MEA are coughing up the additional cash for additional screening. Hence the exemption.

Good luck with BA under Cruz paying for anything.
londonbus is offline  
Old Dec 29, 17, 9:00 am
  #170  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Riyadh, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Programs: BA Gold. Iberia Plus Blue, Miles and More Blue, Gulf Blue, Tesco Clubcard, Elite PAL Mabuhay
Posts: 421
Originally Posted by jah718 View Post
I didn't encounter any issues although the phone never came out of my pocket at the supplementary gate check. I don't think there should be any issues as I don't think anyone would notice that it is too big as it is only marginally bigger than other phones.


To be fair, security screen at RUH T1 is pretty lax. Tends to be a comedy of errors if you're going out when PIA/PAL or Lanka have departures scheduled...
londonbus is offline  
Old Jan 19, 18, 11:23 am
  #171  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, Miles and Smiles Elite, IHG Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 549
Angry No BA response so far for CAI flights

Since I haven't heard anything about the lifting of the ban on BA flights out of CAI following the ban being lifted on Egypt Air, I wrote to the department of transport and in their response it said
"The Government continues to work closely with all carriers to achieve a full lift at each affected airport as soon as possible. In order to lift the ban, airlines are first required to implement enhanced security measures. However, airlines may still choose to retain the ban for operational reasons which is a matter for individual airlines provided they meet security requirements".
So BA can't keep saying that it is the DOT's fault. Another "enhancement" by Cruz!!!!
Dselvan is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 11:45 am
  #172  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: CAMRA GGL (Gold Card Holder/Lifetime membership)
Posts: 650
I’m going İstanbul in a week, surely this is rescinded by now ??
hungry is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 12:03 pm
  #173  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 16,316
Originally Posted by hungry View Post
I’m going İstanbul in a week, surely this is rescinded by now ??
Hi,

No its's not IIRC ( but you will be ok going to IST but not from IST)

Regards

TBS
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Old Jan 21, 18, 12:31 pm
  #174  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 55,121
Definitely still in place and enforced in all locations mentioned upthread.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Old Jan 21, 18, 1:17 pm
  #175  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Surrey, UK
Programs: BA Gold, *A Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 584
One way around this is to not fly direct back from IST.

LHR-IST-xxx-LHR will do the trick. Ive seen One way fares with LOT from 80. Id imagine there are OneWorld options available too, although for those that also have Star Gold status, the TK lounge is light years ahead of the overcrowded room that BA use as a lounge.
jwhite9185 is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 2:49 pm
  #176  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: CAMRA GGL (Gold Card Holder/Lifetime membership)
Posts: 650
I’m just gonna have to not take my iPad it seems on the trip.
It’s just ridiculous to be in this situation
hungry is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 3:03 pm
  #177  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 724
Originally Posted by hungry View Post
Im just gonna have to not take my iPad it seems on the trip.
Its just ridiculous to be in this situation
especially since BA is basically the only major airline not to meet the new standards; all the local airlines (ME, RJ etc) have all long since enabled their customers to get on with their usual travel lives.
prof is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 3:09 pm
  #178  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: LHR
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 353
Originally Posted by hungry View Post
Im just gonna have to not take my iPad it seems on the trip.
Its just ridiculous to be in this situation
Just to be clear you will need to check your iPad in as well. Nothing larger than a phone would be allowed in the cabin
mzb00 is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 3:25 pm
  #179  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: CAMRA GGL (Gold Card Holder/Lifetime membership)
Posts: 650
Originally Posted by prof View Post


especially since BA is basically the only major airline not to meet the new standards; all the local airlines (ME, RJ etc) have all long since enabled their customers to get on with their usual travel lives.
what does the airline have to do to meet the new standards ?
hungry is offline  
Old Jan 21, 18, 4:24 pm
  #180  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 724
Originally Posted by hungry View Post

what does the airline have to do to meet the new standards ?
I think its a matter of investing in new or more (or both) screening equipment. Why this should be the airlines problem and not the governments or the airports, I dont know. But in any case the other airlines have done what it takes and BA hasnt, and, by the looks of it, it wont. As a result, BA passengers from those airports are compelled to check in bags if they want to take anything more than a phone with them, which is absurd. (Personally, I doubt security as such is at stake, and Id certainly not feel more secure with lots of extra lithium-ion batteries arbitrarily forced into the hold: its just one more of these things that governments do to make us feelor to look as though they make us feelmore secure).
prof is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread