UUA on American no Avios availability

Reply

Old Apr 7, 17, 1:42 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Programs: BA Gold, Geek platinum
Posts: 1,967
UUA on American no Avios availability

Ok so probably a dumb question that has been asked a million times (and I have tried looking for the answer without success) but is it possible to UUA from Y to J on AA metal from a BA booking when no avios availability is shown but there is miles availability on AA.com?
Joely is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 1:44 am
  #2  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N/A
Programs: Go Fish
Posts: 4,244
No, has to be avios availability.
nufnuf77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 3:22 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Programs: Mucci, BA Gold, PS, HHonors Lifetime Diamond
Posts: 5,987
Originally Posted by nufnuf77 View Post
No, has to be avios availability.
No, there has to be specific upgrade availability. AA has separate booking classes for pure redemptions and upgrades. Avios redemptions are booked into 'U' class, while upgrades are booked into 'C' class, Neither can be seen online, I believe, and one needs to call to enquire.
Andriyko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 3:33 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Programs: BA Gold, Geek platinum
Posts: 1,967
I just spoke to the call centre based on Andriyko's response and they said that you can't UUA BA code-shares on AA metal. Is that true? I thought those were the only AA flights you could UUA?
Joely is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 5:13 am
  #5  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N/A
Programs: Go Fish
Posts: 4,244
Originally Posted by Joely View Post
I just spoke to the call centre based on Andriyko's response and they said that you can't UUA BA code-shares on AA metal. Is that true? I thought those were the only AA flights you could UUA?
BA is correct, if it is AA metal it has to be AA code in order to upgrade. You also need to be in very expensive booking classes.
nufnuf77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 5:49 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Programs: Mucci, BA Gold, PS, HHonors Lifetime Diamond
Posts: 5,987
Originally Posted by Joely View Post
I just spoke to the call centre based on Andriyko's response and they said that you can't UUA BA code-shares on AA metal. Is that true? I thought those were the only AA flights you could UUA?
Unfortunately, as nufnuf77 wrote, you can't upgrade a codeshare flight (it used to be possible but BAEC changed the rules a year or so ago).
Andriyko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 6:45 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold; SQ Gold; AA Platinum; Hyatt Discoverist; Hilton Gold
Posts: 388
Originally Posted by nufnuf77 View Post
BA is correct, if it is AA metal it has to be AA code in order to upgrade.
I didn't know that. The dashboard could usefully be updated with this info: http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...l#post27691539
mgiarc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 17, 7:11 am
  #8  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N/A
Programs: Go Fish
Posts: 4,244
Originally Posted by mgiarc View Post
I didn't know that. The dashboard could usefully be updated with this info: http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...l#post27691539
You are quite right, I don't see this mentioned in the guide, but it is most certainly the case. Sorry you only got to know about it too late.
nufnuf77 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread