Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Bring the card used to pay for the booking to the airport?

Old Apr 4, 17, 10:50 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA Silver

Hi All
(Long time lurker - first time poster)

A quick question that I've often wondered about and doesn't seem to be answered anywhere else that I could easily find:

The e-ticket receipt email from BA always includes the warning "If the payment cardholder is travelling, you must bring the card used to pay for this booking to the airport with you, for verification, before you can travel."

I have been travelling BA several times a year for many years and have never been asked to show a payment card at the airport.

Has anyone else? What is the point of this warning? What happens if they ask for a card and I don't have it - will I be denied boarding? What if I have used 2 or 3 different cards to pay a deposit (on BA Holidays bookings) and then the balance? (cards expire, occasionally go missing, or may just be left at home)

Just curious...

Many thanks for any insight.
Old Apr 4, 17, 10:53 am

Programs: BA Silver - AZ Freccia Alata - LH - O6 Gold
I've read that disclaimer many times, but have never been questioned about it at the airport. I've heard sometimes (from other airlines) they may reverse the charge on the original card and charge you on a card you provide at the airport?

My friend was once asked by CX to provide the original payment card (and didn't have it), however in the end I think nothing happened and he was allowed to board.
Old Apr 4, 17, 10:57 am

Programs: BA Gold; Hilton Honors Gold
Fruitcage, welcome to the party It's great to have you on board (so to speak). Hopefully this will be the first of many postings!