Europe flights

Old Feb 25, 17, 12:00 am
Original Poster

Europe flights

So, I've already booked tickets from the US to MAN this summer. We need to book some flights within Europe and back to MAN for our return flight to the US. I am new to the points game and have seen mutilple posts about the short haul redemption being good on BA. However when I checked it didn't seem that good and with the surcharges it's even worse. Am I missing something or does anyone have other recommendations for where to use points for flights within Europe ?
Old Feb 25, 17, 12:14 am
Senior Mod and Moderator: Aegean Miles&Bonus and British Airways

Programs: A3*G, BA Gold, BD Gold (in memoriam), IHG Spire
I imagine you're thinking about RFS (Reward Flight Saver) redemptions, which can indeed be extremely good value in some circumstances.

For many short European flights, they're available for 4,500 Avios on peak dates (less on off-peak) and a fixed cash fee of 17.50 - that's for one-way, in economy. For last minute bookings, or for those on extremely popular days, they can be a lifesaver when revenue prices are high.

At other times, when prices are lower, you may well be better off just buying a normal fare.

Of course, the one thing you will need is an Avios based account - and as you're in the US, perhaps you don't and this is why the value doesn't seem as good?
Old Feb 25, 17, 1:01 am
In Memoriam

Programs: BA Silver; IHG Gold Elite; Hilton Gold
Manchester has a very limited range of flights to Europe, without connecting via London. Connecting flights double your price.
Old Feb 25, 17, 1:13 am

Originally Posted by NWIFlyer View Post
I imagine you're thinking about RFS (Reward Flight Saver) redemptions, which can indeed be extremely good value in some circumstances.