Airside Exit from T3

Old Feb 21, 17, 10:50 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Somewhere around Europe...
Programs: BA Gold; SPG Plat; HH Diamond; IHG Spire; RR Concierge
Posts: 471
Airside Exit from T3

I'm debating heading to T3 early tomorrow and spending the day working from the CX lounge, however at some point I'll need to collect an Amazon parcel from the landside Post Office. Depending on when this arrives I may already be airside.

Has anyone done an airside exit from T3 lately? A quick search suggests it should be possible via Flight Connections (and indeed CWS's draft T3 map says the same), can anyone confirm if this still applies?
dakaix is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 10:51 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA
Posts: 9,432
It still applies. However, I am not sure how you can get back in with the same boarding pass (not saying it can't be done, just unsure/unaware how).
BA6501 is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 10:52 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Programs: British Airways Gold
Posts: 2,515
You can, but you're going to have a hassle getting back airside
ajeleonard is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 11:06 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,789
I wouldn't recommend if your onward journey is part of a larger itinerary - could cause you a lot of grief
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 11:10 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Somewhere around Europe...
Programs: BA Gold; SPG Plat; HH Diamond; IHG Spire; RR Concierge
Posts: 471
It's an open-jaw positioning flight with BA, for an ex-EU starting on 23rd. I'm assuming that even if I am able to get back landside I would still have to re-visit a check-in desk to get the "Ready To Fly" status corrected.

I suspect the bigger challenge is what would happen to the checked bag...

Last edited by dakaix; Feb 21, 17 at 11:57 am
dakaix is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 11:27 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: HNL
Programs: AA EXP, HA Pua Plat
Posts: 444
I thought "Ready to fly" was only in T5?

Getting out of T3 through flight connections would require a one way door from the departure lounge to the arrivals stream, which I don't remember seeing last time I was there. I think you need to talk to someone to let you out.
Kumulani is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 11:56 am
  #7  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 40,626
I think it is relatively easy. Leave the Cathay lounge, turn left, head towards the BA lounge without leaving the main corridor. Then follow the signs to Zone H, by the AA Admirals Club, and just beyond is a sign for Flight Connections. Thereafter is a sign for exiting T3, which indeed involves a double door. You need to ensure only one door is open at any one time. This is a legal exit route.

I think that Positive Boarding allows a second scan of boarding passes, it's not that clever. But I am sure you will report here on your experience.

The post office is right by the Fast Track security entrance.

I think I have spent too long in LHR.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Old Feb 21, 17, 2:02 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LHR
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 229
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
I think it is relatively easy. Leave the Cathay lounge, turn left, head towards the BA lounge without leaving the main corridor. Then follow the signs to Zone H, by the AA Admirals Club, and just beyond is a sign for Flight Connections. Thereafter is a sign for exiting T3, which indeed involves a double door. You need to ensure only one door is open at any one time. This is a legal exit route.
I'm curious... If you've arrived into T3 from X and are awaiting a connection to Y, i.e. you are not entering the UK, this seems to suggest you can go landside without passing through the UK Border?
DIRECT MERIT is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 2:13 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: E14
Programs: BA, SPG, PC, Hilton, Marriot, Sirius, Dusit, Thai, BMI, Virgin, Hyatt, IC, BAA, AS, AA(both)
Posts: 1,037
Originally Posted by DIRECT MERIT View Post
I'm curious... If you've arrived into T3 from X and are awaiting a connection to Y, i.e. you are not entering the UK, this seems to suggest you can go landside without passing through the UK Border?
Nope the door leads to Border Control
E14 26C is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 2:13 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA
Posts: 9,432
It leads you to the arrivals stream.
BA6501 is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 2:35 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,789
So does this mean a passenger could leave for "fresh air" quite easily and re-enter without too much hassle at T3?
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 2:55 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: HNL
Programs: AA EXP, HA Pua Plat
Posts: 444
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
I think it is relatively easy. Leave the Cathay lounge, turn left, head towards the BA lounge without leaving the main corridor. Then follow the signs to Zone H, by the AA Admirals Club, and just beyond is a sign for Flight Connections. Thereafter is a sign for exiting T3, which indeed involves a double door. You need to ensure only one door is open at any one time. This is a legal exit route.

I think that Positive Boarding allows a second scan of boarding passes, it's not that clever. But I am sure you will report here on your experience.

The post office is right by the Fast Track security entrance.

I think I have spent too long in LHR.
Oops, I mixed it up. T5 is the one you have to talk to someone to get out of, my bad. I remember getting yelled at when I tried to exit myself by taking the automatic train to the end of the line.
Kumulani is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 3:09 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 26,671
Originally Posted by Kumulani View Post
Oops, I mixed it up. T5 is the one you have to talk to someone to get out of, my bad. I remember getting yelled at when I tried to exit myself by taking the automatic train to the end of the line.
You don't have to talk to anyone at T5. The transit route is still possible and a semi-official route to landside.
KARFA is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 3:46 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC Silver, VFC Gold, Marriott Silver, Hertz PC, DYKWIA
Posts: 184
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
You don't have to talk to anyone at T5. The transit route is still possible and a semi-official route to landside.
Unless HAL kick you off the transit at T5C
richi is offline  
Old Feb 21, 17, 3:51 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 26,671
Originally Posted by richi View Post
Unless HAL kick you off the transit at T5C
Well tbh they mostly don't even do a check at T5C now anyway. And even if they did why would they kick you off?
KARFA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread