Bronze = worst seats in cabin?

Old Feb 13, 17, 2:28 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Bronze = worst seats in cabin?

Yay, went bronze this year! Well, I only just started back into travelling for business, so bear with me

First flight after getting "status" : short haul, no baggage, find myself shoved into the back row with zero option to change seats at check-in (24hr before flight). Ok, my fault I guess for being "frugal" with my employer's and getting a no baggage fare, won't make that mistake again, move on....

...move on to today, when I go to reserve a seat in PE for LHR->LAX on a 380, 6 days ahead of the flight. There are apparently exactly three seats available in a cabin which accommodates 52, and they are of course centre seats on the back three rows.

Last year, I had no status and got decent seats on all my long-haul trips in PE, via online check-in 24 hrs before the flight.

WHY AM I BEING PUNISHED LIKE THIS!? Is there some obscure seat reservation rule of which I am ignorant? Or is it really fact that the 49 better seats in the cabin were already reserved? COMPLETELY unlike any flight I took in the past 2 years before getting "status"?

Full disclosure, I did book this flight a long time ago (like 6 mo+) so it might be a crummy fare code

(Oh, apologies if this was covered before somewhere)
captainnajork is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:32 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,844
It's the new system which blocks - and doesn't release - select seats for higher status. I'm regularly flying the GLA route now in row 1 with often one or no one at all in the other five seats!
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:33 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, HH Diamond, BW Diamond, Blue Peter Badge Holder
Posts: 2,780
Welcome Captainnajork.

See the Theoretical Seating thread.

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...ts-status.html

Best advice is to keep rechecking to see if other seats are opened up. Remember, preivously you were selecting at OLCI? so you will probably find more flexibility then.

Last edited by navylad; Feb 13, 17 at 3:04 pm
navylad is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:39 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks

So, try again at T-72 hrs and T-24 hrs?
captainnajork is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:40 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,844
And finally at the desk at the airport
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:48 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lewes
Programs: HiltonH. Gold Starwood Gold BA BLUES! Mucci.
Posts: 4,703
If on an HBO fare, does not check my trip or similar actually show you the provisional seat assigned by BA. ?
If so you can decide to accept it or pay for a better seat,
It might be worth removing your exec card and seeing if that changes the status quo (and add it in again after you have checked in?
Skipcool3 is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:49 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Krakow
Programs: BAEC Silver, Miles and More(FTL), IHG(Platinum), Accor, HHonors(Diamond), SPG, Hertz Five Star
Posts: 2,445
Theoretical seating is only active from t -72. It will not affect seat choice 6 days out. Check on expert flyer what's blocked occupied and open.
scottishpoet is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 2:56 pm
  #8  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 40,916
Welcome to Flyertalk captainnajork, and welcome to the BA forum. It's been a busy day for new people making their first forays on this board, but you are very much welcome here. I hope we hear more from you in the future.

You've been pointed to the right thread above. I would check 2 or 3 times a day, until you are happy with your choice of seats. T-72 is a key point here, so make sure you check the seating soon after that. I would expect you to have better choices somewhere along the line and before OLCI.
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Old Feb 13, 17, 3:09 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks - got an expertflyer alert set up now, and will keep checking.

It's a full time occupation isn't it, getting a decent seat!?
captainnajork is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 3:19 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: BRU/TAY
Programs: AY+ Plat (OWE), Accor Gold
Posts: 21
This sounds extremely strange!

Just to add a data point: In the past couple of weeks, I flew over 10 segments on BA with someone who is OW Ruby (AY+ silver), and this OWR (on their separate booking) was able to reserve any seat in both Euro Traveller and UK Domestic, a week in advance already, using the BA android app. As OWS, I could do the same. We found it particularly convenient, surprising even, that this was possible even for Ruby, and got the exit row on every single leg.

It seems very odd that a BA equivalent of Ruby flying BA had no access to such a function. Could this be LH-specific?
ottersmacker is offline  
Old Feb 13, 17, 3:27 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold, Priority Club Platinum, Best Western Diamond
Posts: 439
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
It's the new system which blocks - and doesn't release - select seats for higher status. I'm regularly flying the GLA route now in row 1 with often one or no one at all in the other five seats!
That didn't work last night from GLA - row 1 (with at least 2 GC holders) all seats taken, row 2 withn only 4 out of the 6 seats taken.
cme17 is offline  
Old Feb 14, 17, 4:08 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lewes, UK
Programs: BA Silver
Posts: 207
I experienced two trips in CE last year with Bronze. Nothing decent at 7 days, but after setting seat alerts for 1A/1F in Expertflyer the email duly arrived at T-72 saying available so quickly booked. This suggests T-72 is the best time for Bronze. I found that all seats shown as X rather than occupied then became open for lowly Bronze.
peterinlewesuk is offline  
Old Feb 14, 17, 4:17 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Programs: AA PLT, FB Gold, DL Gold
Posts: 169
Just to add a data point as another Ruby (AA) flying on BA recently. On most of my domestic HBO fares with a no status friend, coming from EDI & GLA to LGW and back we've always been assigned good seats (3BC, 4EF etc) towards the front of the aircraft, when checking in at T-24.

On domestic connections to long haul I've been able to select 1C or 1F at sometime near T-72 too, usually just a couple days prior the seats would open up. This is to LHR. On the long haul cabins the luck is not as bad either.

So I guess as a Ruby you probably have to work a little bit harder for the seats... but if I manage to remember to OLCI or check the seat map near the appropriate times (I think I checked in a couple hours after OLCI opened) I've been assigned a decent seat. From one Ruby to another -Good luck!
jimmielin is offline  
Old Feb 14, 17, 4:28 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London, Babylon-on-Thames
Programs: BAEC Bronze (!)
Posts: 730
Paid to select one of three seats showing as available on the BA2152 from Barbados last month only discover a 20% load factor and a row of three to myself.....
skipness1E is online now  
Old Feb 14, 17, 4:37 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Silver, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, Melia Gold, Shangri-La Jade, BA Amex PP, Iberia+, Nandos Card
Posts: 1,517
Originally Posted by captainnajork View Post
It's a full time occupation isn't it, getting a decent seat!?
That's the spirit!
obduro is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread