Highlife Connect (Inflight Wi-Fi)

Old Dec 2, 2016, 7:43 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,635
Originally Posted by kauppias
A backup power bank works wonders for hand held devices though doesnt help the lap top crowd
Agree, but it's pretty simple. People will be more likely to use (and pay for) the wifi if their device is charged.

It's another case of penny-wise and pound-foolish.
Dave_C is offline  
Old Jan 27, 2017, 2:35 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Around somewhere
Programs: Gold, Some red card and some hotel cards.
Posts: 697
I don't Know anyone who travels long haul and doesn't now take a power bank or a spare battery for their devices.
SonTech is offline  
Old Jan 27, 2017, 3:05 am
  #18  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sin, HKG
Programs: SQ, BA CCR GGL
Posts: 626
Originally Posted by SonTech
I don't Know anyone who travels long haul and doesn't now take a power bank or a spare battery for their devices.
You do now. Pleased to meet you.
Nuster is offline  
Old Jan 27, 2017, 3:16 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Flatland
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold 1MM, BA Gold, UA Peon
Posts: 6,078
Apart from a power bank, the battery life of some devices is quite long these days. My iPad will do web browsing or document and book reading for 8-10 hours, some phones last several hours of web browsing or lightweight app usage, even my laptop runs for over 3 hours doing lightweight tasks (acting as a data terminal to the Internet). While I do carry a small power bank, I don't use it very much on aircraft; it's mostly there as a backup for when some app goes amok and drains my phone battery.
flatlander is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2017, 5:40 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 311
This was trialled on an aircraft I was on recently. It was quite impressive and allowed me to watch YouTube, although I don't know how many people were connected. I can't remember the cost breakdown but I think it was around 29 usd for the entire flight.
My_head_is_spinning is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2017, 5:51 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Balham - Gateway to The South
Programs: BA Bronze
Posts: 2,020
Just a question, I was on G-CIVV on 6th April - no sign of WiFi mentioned on IFE.
If this aircraft has been fitted with the hardware I would have thought BA would have been keen to make passengers aware of it - after all not everybody is an FTer....
missdimeaner is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2017, 5:57 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 311
I was approached and given a code. I had spotted the network before that and saw the price plan, I can't remember the details but It wasn't a bargain.
My_head_is_spinning is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2017, 6:12 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Balham - Gateway to The South
Programs: BA Bronze
Posts: 2,020
Originally Posted by My_head_is_spinning
I was approached and given a code. I had spotted the network before that and saw the price plan, I can't remember the details but It wasn't a bargain.
I was on the morning flight from JFK - maybe the crew thought we were not awake enough to cope with WiFi - or maybe I wasn't !
Hopefully someone will share a price plan if they come across it - or perhaps they are trialling it with a few 'hand selected' passengers.
missdimeaner is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2017, 7:17 am
  #24  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 18,474
Originally Posted by My_head_is_spinning
I can't remember the cost breakdown but I think it was around 29 usd for the entire flight.


That price will at least keep the contention manageable.
DYKWIA is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2017, 7:38 am
  #25  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 131
I was on a morning flight back from JFK away back in July 2015 and they were trialing wifi on it. Can't remember which 747 it was. The connection was via a T-Mobile service based in Germany and the cost was 10 for 24 hours access.

Going over the Atlantic it was terrible. Barely enough to browse social media or get emails. It did help pass some time and allow a bit of work to be done... slowly.
everGLAdes is offline  
Old Jul 4, 2017, 12:45 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
So at this point, is G-CIVV the only 747 equipped with this?
snicko is offline  
Old Jul 4, 2017, 12:59 am
  #27  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club, easyJet and Ryanair
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 15,817
IIRC, wifi be gradually introduced from September.
Tobias-UK is offline  
Old Jul 4, 2017, 4:09 am
  #28  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Programs: BA Blue, EI Silver, Honours Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,196
I understand the A380, 787 and Super-Hi J 744s already have the system installed, it just needs to be switched on, possibly the 77Ws too. So a relatively high proportion of the fleet should be good to go on day one.
BrianDromey is online now  
Old Jul 4, 2017, 7:18 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,619
The satellite for this (the provider to which BA have signed up for) has or is about to be launched
gw76 is offline  
Old Jul 29, 2017, 6:39 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: AA EXP.
Posts: 1,322
my guess is my flight tmw on the a380 lax-lhr wont have it as well ? lol
Amil is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.