Wiki Posts
Search

UK To Australia

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12, 2016, 9:01 am
Original Poster

UK To Australia

Hi Guys,

I have been saving Avios for 5 years with a plan of taking my wife to Australia in business class. I have managed to collect two Amex 2-4-1 vouchers and c250,000 miles.

I have not redeemed any airmiles before but have read the Flyertalk guide and the Avios University guide at Head for Points. We would like to fly to Sydney or Melbourne next year before the first 2-4-1 voucher expires on 18 August. The other complicating factor is that we now have a daughter who turns 2 on 4 September who will be coming along.

I know I am not starting with the easiest of redemptions and from what I have read I will need to split each leg into 2 to get some availability. If anyone can offer any other tips it would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob
Old Oct 12, 2016, 9:22 am

Programs: BA GGL, HHonors Diamond
Hi Rob and welcome to Flyertalk. I expect an official welcome will be along shortly

As you've probably read Australia is probably the toughest for redeeming points - it's extremely popular and numerous threads come up about it.

The general advice is that as there is such high demand you will not see availability for both outbound and return together. You are best using the 2-4-1 to book Outbound flights LHR-SYD (ideally as quickly as possible) and then add in the return leg later. At the present moment I expect that availability is being taken each night as flights are loaded into the system (the booking horizon)

You can change dates around later (if other dates are available) for a fee.

You should also seriously consider other options especially ex-EU. You will be paying circa Ł600 each in taxes alone which could be used for a revenue ticket from somewhere like Oslo (circa Ł2400) or in one of the Qatar sales.
Old Oct 12, 2016, 9:28 am
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club

Originally Posted by David_Doyle