TSA Precheck [BA participation]

Old Sep 1, 16, 3:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 349
TSA Precheck [BA participation]

Lufthansa have announced they are the first European airlines to offer TSA Precheck. Can BA be far behind?
rembrandtuk is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 3:59 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,676
Originally Posted by rembrandtuk View Post
Lufthansa have announced they are the first European airlines to offer TSA Precheck. Can BA be far behind?
LOL. I think we all know the answer is 'yes ... They can be far behind'
MPH1980 is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 4:19 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: City of Kingston Upon Hull
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 4,733
Interesting news, at my recent GE interview I was told there was no chance of European airlines being included in the scheme.
kanderson1965 is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 4:29 pm
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 46,687
A front line CBP Officer would not have a clue about this. In fact, DHS very much wants EU carriers to contribute their data, but data protection and related privacy concerns have been a barrier to date.

It will be a significant benefit for LH passengers and it is particularly natural for UK nationals who are GE-eligible to access PreCheck on BA. I presume that VS will follow soon enough, and then the rest of the EU carriers.
Often1 is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 4:35 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: City of Kingston Upon Hull
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 4,733
Fair point re CBP although data protection laws were cited as a reason when I asked.

I would however suggest that with all the goings on with BA, it is becoming more natural not to use BA, especially for those of us in the regions, and simply take advantage of LH's PreCheck facilities.
kanderson1965 is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 6:32 pm
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 46,687
Data protection is data protection. At least so long as the UK is still a Member State. And even then, who knows. Given the data which the passenger shares with DHS (CBP) in order to obtain GE, I'm not certain that the data the air carrier shares about the passenger, also with the passenger's permission, is particularly more significant. Clearly LH doesn't think so.

Pressure from UK high-value customers who can use their GE to access Pre-Check when flying AA back to the UK will become pretty hefty. It's not just the length of the line, but the very limited scope of the TSA search (no shoes and jackets removed, no need to remove laptop or 3-1-1 bag, no MMW) that really attracts people.
Often1 is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 7:47 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, United Kingdom
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold;BA GGL, CCR; hhonors diamond; SPG LTG ; IH Plat Amb; Amex Centurion;
Posts: 4,449
This, and the continued absence of wifi, are making BA loyalty hard at the moment.
hsmall is offline  
Old Sep 1, 16, 11:31 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SE1, London
Posts: 21,968
Given what GCHQ get up to citing data protection for BA not joining is rather funny! I suspect BA can't see any value in the integration work so it will be well down the list.
Swanhunter is offline  
Old Sep 2, 16, 12:12 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Programs: BA Gold (OWE), Star Alliance Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,146
I actually have a feeling that BA aren't all that far away from supporting Pre check. If you travel on an AA codeshare on BA and your KTN is in the AA booking, BA tickets are now sometimes getting the unsigned 3 long beeps at TSA checkpoints. This is exactly what was happening with Qatar just before they started to support pre check.
reclusive46 is offline  
Old Sep 2, 16, 12:57 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: EDI
Programs: AA EXP;Life time PLT; HH Diamond
Posts: 334
BA wondering,"What is TSA Pre-Check"?
wemyss is offline  
Old Sep 2, 16, 5:32 am
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 90,933
Originally Posted by rembrandtuk View Post
Lufthansa have announced they are the first European airlines to offer TSA Precheck. Can BA be far behind?
I'm expecting it well within 18 months.

Originally Posted by kanderson1965 View Post
Fair point re CBP although data protection laws were cited as a reason when I asked.
Excuses, when LH could pull it off.

Even the US equivalent of Europe's Ryanair is on the path to pull it off. BA can't be too far behind.

Originally Posted by kanderson1965 View Post
Interesting news, at my recent GE interview I was told there was no chance of European airlines being included in the scheme.
Sounds like a clueless CBP employee. Others in CBP knew more.

Last edited by GUWonder; Sep 2, 16 at 5:38 am
GUWonder is online now  
Old Sep 2, 16, 5:39 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Programs: BAEC Gold, IHG Spire Elite, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 5,861
Give it a year and things will be no better queue wise than they are now if they start opening up to all and sundry.
Sealink likes this.
xenole is online now  
Old Sep 2, 16, 5:42 am
  #13  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 12,989
Originally Posted by wemyss View Post
BA wondering,"What is TSA Pre-Check"?
I've taken 7 AA flights this last few weeks (a combination of JFK, LAX. LAS and MIA), 6 of them with BA codeshare numbers, on 6 of those flights I have been given TSA Pre the 1 exception was LAS-MIA on an AA prime number (fortunately there was no queue at security when we left on that trip).
Tobias-UK is offline  
Old Sep 2, 16, 5:44 am
  #14  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 12,989
Originally Posted by xenole View Post
Give it a year and things will be no better queue wise than they are now if they start opening up to all and sundry.
But the queue should move much more quickly with there being no shoes to take off, no liquids or laptops to take out and no jackets to take off.
Tobias-UK is offline  
Old Sep 2, 16, 7:45 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: EDI
Programs: AA EXP;Life time PLT; HH Diamond
Posts: 334
Originally Posted by Tobias-UK View Post
I've taken 7 AA flights this last few weeks (a combination of JFK, LAX. LAS and MIA), 6 of them with BA codeshare numbers, on 6 of those flights I have been given TSA Pre the 1 exception was LAS-MIA on an AA prime number (fortunately there was no queue at security when we left on that trip).
You have Global Entry? So almost all times gives TSA Pre-Check
(Very useful on Wed at LAX...sailed through in minutes).
wemyss is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: