Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Can I Upgrade Only One Leg in a Multi-Leg Journey?

Old Sep 7, 15, 4:12 pm
Original Poster

Hello,

I already have a one-way booking for a multi-leg journey, BOM - LHR - JFK in WT+. Now for my travel date, when I use the "Book and upgrade" tool for the entire journey, no upgrade options appear (doing this just to check upgrade availability).

When I check just BOM - LHR for my flight on my said date, no upgrade availability appears.

However, when I check LHR - JFK, it shows that an upgrade is available to Club World. However, for my booking, I am unable to upgrade online using Avios for that particular lef of my journey. Also, will there be any additional *significant* charges to upgrade?

I have never done this before. New to the game. Thank you for your time.
Old Sep 7, 15, 4:13 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: GMLFL, Life 2.0 - Mucci Premiere Classe & des Chevaliers Toulousiens
Call. Should work. Simple check is to see if there is availability is to see if you can make a full redemption booking in CW on the same flight.
Old Sep 7, 15, 4:22 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
The charges will be the extra carrier surcharge from WTP to CW, so for LHR-JFK that would be about 50-60. There is no fee for doing a UuA.

Be careful as a known issue for a longhaul-longhaul multiple leg booking is that the agent may try and charge you the extra carrier surcharge for both legs even if you are only UuA'ing one leg. This is to do with how the agent sees the cost when they process your UuA. If they are quoting siginficatly more than 60 query it.
GarudaSoars likes this.
Old Sep 7, 15, 4:24 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
The charges will be the extra carrier surcharge from WTP to CW, so for LHR-JFK that would be about 50-60. There is no fee for doing a UuA.