Hand Baggage Only on Interline Itinerary?

Old Apr 7, 15, 11:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 480
Hand Baggage Only on Interline Itinerary?

I'm going to be flying YOW-DUB next month with a stopover in LHR. Ticket was issued by AC (who also operates the YOW-LHR segment) while the DUB-LHR segment is on BA.

I just looked up my flight on BA.com and noticed that this segment is showing as a "Hand Baggage Only" fare. Given that IATA Resolution 302 doesn't apply after a stopover of 24 hours or more, am I completely screwed on checking a bag for this flight?

I am flying on both an AC ticket and an AC fare, so nothing in the Fare Rules would indicate HBO.
CorSter is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 11:38 am
  #2  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 40,587
HBO tickets are not combinable with other sectors, so if you have one ticket for the whole trip then your BA sector should not be HBO at all. So I don't know how this happened, it may just be BA's IT playing up. If a travel agent has stitched this together in one ticket then I'm not sure they've done the right thing. Either way, I think you can assume the YOW checkin agent won't be terribly clued up about BA's intricate way of doing things so I really doubt you will have an issue in that direction. On the return it may be more problematic, but I would hope the production of your onwards flight would assist you to through check at LHR.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 11:47 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,749
Originally Posted by CorSter View Post
I am flying on both an AC ticket and an AC fare, so nothing in the Fare Rules would indicate HBO.
You will not get a HBO sector under an AC through fare.

Seems like an IT bug
Calchas is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 12:03 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 480
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
HBO tickets are not combinable with other sectors, so if you have one ticket for the whole trip then your BA sector should not be HBO at all. So I don't know how this happened, it may just be BA's IT playing up.

If a travel agent has stitched this together in one ticket then I'm not sure they've done the right thing. Either way, I think you can assume the YOW checkin agent won't be terribly clued up about BA's intricate way of doing things so I really doubt you will have an issue in that direction. On the return it may be more problematic, but I would hope the production of your onwards flight would assist you to through check at LHR.
I booked this directly with AC by phone, so no travel agent is involved - it's all on one AC through fare. I do have a multi-day stopover in London, so I will have to recheck my bag with BA prior to flying to DUB, which is my concern. That being said, both my AC segment and my BA segment do show up on BA.com so it's clear on both ends that it's a multi-airline itinerary. I don't even have much of an issue paying the 20 baggage charge if I have to, but BA.com is asking for $75 (not sure if USD or CAD) to purchase a checked bag which seems excessive.

My return trip doesn't have a BA leg or a stopover, so I don't have any concerns there (AC codeshare operated by EI connecting to AC TATL).

Last edited by CorSter; Apr 7, 15 at 12:15 pm
CorSter is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 12:15 pm
  #5  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 40,587
Originally Posted by CorSter View Post
. I don't even have much of an issue paying the 20 baggage charge if I have to, but BA.com is asking for $75 (not sure if USD or CAD) to purchase a checked bag which seems excessive.
Not so much excessive, just plain wrong. Blame BA's IT. We all do (and so do the airline's staff!). I have the HBO fact sheet in front of me and it says baldly: "HBO remains non-combinable with other products".
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 12:17 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 480
Originally Posted by corporate-wage-slave View Post
Not so much excessive, just plain wrong. Blame BA's IT. We all do (and so do the airline's staff!). I have the HBO fact sheet in front of me and it says baldly: "HBO remains non-combinable with other products".
Sounds like they could compete with AC for worst airline IT
CorSter is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 1:54 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 480
Did a bit more searching around on Flyertalk and found someone else on an AC ticket that seems to have run into the same issue: http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/air-c...are-issue.html

Time to get on the phone....
CorSter is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 2:03 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: JAX
Programs: Former BA/AA/CP/LY employee, BA Executive Club Blue, IHG Platinum, Samsung Platinum
Posts: 2,863
I'm going to guess that the eticket was issued without a baggage allowance on it - where it should say 2PC or 1PC or 23K etc, it's probably blank. BA's IT is likely reading this as 'none' instead of 'unknown'
JAXBA is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 2:12 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 480
Originally Posted by JAXBA View Post
I'm going to guess that the eticket was issued without a baggage allowance on it - where it should say 2PC or 1PC or 23K etc, it's probably blank. BA's IT is likely reading this as 'none' instead of 'unknown'
Might be on to something here. Checkmytrip shows "Baggage: information not available", but I don't have much experience with Amadeus so I have no idea if this is normal.
CorSter is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 2:17 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,749
Originally Posted by CorSter View Post
Might be on to something here. Checkmytrip shows "Baggage: information not available", but I don't have much experience with Amadeus so I have no idea if this is normal.
I would agree with this. If you have the time, telephone AC and ask them what is going on with the baggage allowance (as "printed" on the ticket), because BA thinks it's nil
Calchas is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 2:44 pm
  #11  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 40,587
Originally Posted by JAXBA View Post
I'm going to guess that the eticket was issued without a baggage allowance on it - where it should say 2PC or 1PC or 23K etc, it's probably blank. BA's IT is likely reading this as 'none' instead of 'unknown'
Thanks for that, I wonder if this is 2 IT departments, with similar competence levels, working in splendid opposite tangents to each other!
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 3:15 pm
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 43,242
Call BA? A bit better than speculating.
Often1 is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 3:25 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 480
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
Call BA? A bit better than speculating.
Called BA and they confirmed that the e-ticket was showing no baggage allowance as JAXBA suggested, so I then called AC and asked them to re-issue the e-ticket with a 1 bag allowance as per BA's standard allowance - they did so and my allowance has already been changed on BA's website. Air Canada generally determines baggage allowance based on fare class purchased, so I imagine their agents may ignore the baggage allowance field on an e-ticket altogether when issuing a ticket.

Thank you to everyone for your help, especially JAXBA for the winning suggestion.

Last edited by CorSter; Apr 7, 15 at 7:14 pm
CorSter is offline  
Old Apr 7, 15, 3:28 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,749
Originally Posted by CorSter View Post
Called BA and they confirmed that the e-ticket was showing no baggage allowance as JAXBA suggested, so I then called AC and asked them to re-issue the e-ticket with a 1 bag allowance as per BA's standard allowance - they did so and my allowance has already been changed on BA's website. Air Canada generally determines fare allowance based on fare class purchased, so I imagine their agents generally ignore the baggage allowance field on an e-ticket altogether when issuing a ticket.

Thank you to everyone for your help, especially JAXBA for the winning suggestion.
Calchas is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread