Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Visualizing the Avios Award charts on a map

Visualizing the Avios Award charts on a map

Old Jan 22, 15, 1:57 pm
  #1  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,183
Visualizing the Avios Award charts on a map

Want a visual view of which award flights cost what with Avios? I've put together a quick little tool showing routes on a map color-coded by the number of points required for the award. Pick any city and get a map that looks a little something like this:


I'm currently only showing awards up to 12,500 Avios mostly because that seemed like a good idea at the time. And the data is mostly accurate as pulled from the BA calculator though every now and then an interloper slips in to the database, usually a partner of a partner route.

Read more about the Avios Points Map here.

Start using the Avios Points Map here.

Enjoy!
sbm12 is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 3:49 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Programs: BAEC/IB
Posts: 38,121
Only had a quick look so far but from what I've seen it would seem to be a very handy tool. Thanks for taking the trouble and sharing. ^
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 4:31 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,133
Wow. I have to ask: How long did it take for you to create this tool?
Steve in Olympia is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 4:41 pm
  #4  
Community Director
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Anywhere warm
Posts: 29,948
Is there a way to print the destinations in the scroll down box?
SanDiego1K is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 4:49 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: TPA
Programs: AA Gold; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold; IHG Gold
Posts: 2,505
Very nice -- thanks! Couple questions:
- Do you plan to expand this beyond Band 4?
- DCA-TPA shows correctly as Band 2, but TPA-DCA shows as Band 1.
SpammersAreScum is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 6:48 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: BOS/MHT/PVD/BDL
Programs: Belong to Many but No Longer Loyal to Any
Posts: 689
Very cool, indeed. Thanks, Seth.
I'm probably missing it, but is there a button to reset the map?
flyaxa is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 8:35 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: BA Gold, AA Platinum, SQ Gold, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,264
Originally Posted by flyaxa View Post
Very cool, indeed. Thanks, Seth.
I'm probably missing it, but is there a button to reset the map?
I don't see a reset button, but you can edit the link in the browser address bar.

just delete the last 4 characters which are /<airport code>

For example delete /BOS from the following link to go to original.
http://wandr.me/Award-Search/Avios-Map/BOS

Same way you can also change the airport code in the link to avoid having to search for the airport in the list. For SFO, you will change the link to:

http://wandr.me/Award-Search/Avios-Map/SFO

hope this helps
vishalgupta22 is offline  
Old Jan 22, 15, 8:37 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: BA Gold, AA Platinum, SQ Gold, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 1,264
sbm12: it's incredible, thanks for putting this together.
vishalgupta22 is offline  
Old Jan 23, 15, 6:23 am
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,183
Originally Posted by Steve in Olympia View Post
Wow. I have to ask: How long did it take for you to create this tool?
It is all relative, I suppose. I've had a Avios connecting flights calculator for a few years now and putting that together took a few days. This is mostly the same data which, admittedly, I do not maintain often enough, so from that perspective it was not too bad. I also recently made a similar map for <700 mile routes on United because there is a break on the price for booking those. I did that on Monday and someone asked on Tuesday if I could do similar for Avios. Since I already had much of the data it was a matter of putting the UI on top of it and I already had most of the code for that from other projects. So maybe an incremental 6-8 hours to get it done and look pretty.
Originally Posted by SanDiego1K View Post
Is there a way to print the destinations in the scroll down box?
I hadn't ever considered that someone might want to do something like that.

I'll see if I can come up with a means to make that happen.
Originally Posted by SpammersAreScum View Post
Very nice -- thanks! Couple questions:
- Do you plan to expand this beyond Band 4?
- DCA-TPA shows correctly as Band 2, but TPA-DCA shows as Band 1.
I have the data to expand it so that is possible. I was concerned about the map becoming too cluttered and running out of colors to use for the icons. If folks think it would be better with the extra data I can add it in.

And thanks for noting DCA; I "fixed" it yesterday but apparently only halfway. Did the rest just now so it should be all good.

Originally Posted by flyaxa View Post
Very cool, indeed. Thanks, Seth.
I'm probably missing it, but is there a button to reset the map?
Originally Posted by vishalgupta22 View Post
I don't see a reset button, but you can edit the link in the browser address bar.
Yup. UI isn't my strong suit; I need to add a reset button or something.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 2:02 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,183
A couple updates out today, based in large part on the feedback here.

There is now a text box with type-down support for choosing an airport:


You can also click on the Start Over button which takes you back to the home page showing all the airports or the Go Mobile button which removes the map from the UI and just lists out the airports. That view should also work for printing results.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 2:57 pm
  #11  
Community Director
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Anywhere warm
Posts: 29,948
Is it possible that the tool is picking up the DL flights that are code shared with AS, believing them to be AS metal and thus bookable with Avios? I'm seeing a nonstop flight between SAN and MSP, also SAN and DTW. I can only find DL nonstop between those city pairs.
SanDiego1K is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 3:37 pm
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,183
That is entirely possible. There were a bunch of those ex-ATL which I cleaned up already. I'll look at SAN and a few other cities as well.

ETA: Found a few more DL routes which snuck in. I'm sure there are a few other codeshare routes which made it as well; I'll clean them up as I find them. But the vast majority of the data should be correct. And I'll clean up interlopers when they're discovered.

Last edited by sbm12; Jan 26, 15 at 6:25 pm
sbm12 is offline  
Old Jan 27, 15, 3:54 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: JER
Programs: BA Gold/OWE, several MUCCI, and assorted Pensions!
Posts: 29,781
Extraordinarily useful. Thanks, sbm12.
T8191 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: